Listening to My Body & Being Mindful

My back hurts. For the last week, it has hurt. Do you know why?

Stupid backbends.

Well, that’s may best guess.

My other guess is that my friend, The Universe, is presenting me with a lovely opportunity. You how The Universe is. Chock full of opportunities if you’ll only take a minute to pay attention and listen. Well, here’s my new opportunity.

Hey there! Boy do I have an exciting opportunity for you.

Hey there! Boy do I have an exciting opportunity for you.

Remember when I said that although I hate back bending, maybe, just maybe, it is good for me? Well, ok, it probably is good for me, but I got a problem going on over here.

After all that delicious back bending was over (sarcasm by the way), my back started to hurt. At first I thought it was no big deal because I had done all that back bending. I thought it was a by-product. That was over a week ago.

Two days went by and it flipping hurt something bad. So, on day three, I busted out the Advil for a couple of days. It helped leaving me to conclude that I had probably injured myself. I tried to ease my way back into back bending, and I even limited how many back bends I did at a time (no more than 5), AND I didn’t push myself to go very deep at all, but still I am injured.

Does this stink? Heck yeah. Is it a good thing? Yes, it is.

How is that possible? How is my backache a good thing?

Well, I have to rethink my class. Practicing with an injury forces me to move slowly and mindfully. I have to really listen to my body. Even when I get into a posture just fine, I have to continue to listen to my body. Sometimes I need to come out early. Suddenly, every single posture is new in a whole different way. I literally have no idea what I can do from one class to the next. Since this injury effects every single posture (except for eagle), I really don’t know what class will look like from one day to the next.

Practicing with injury

So I’m taking advantage of the opportunity to work on listening to my body and being mindful. I am NOT allowing myself to get upset about what I can’t do. For example, my SH2K currently is me lifting my leg up and then balancing. I cannot get my hands under my foot. I cannot kick out. I can balance. The end. If that sounds miserable, I assure you it’s not. I get to practice my balance in a different way which is kinda cool. But honestly, I cannot do 99% of the postures at even 50% of what I am used to. I can’t even do sit-ups. I just roll over and push myself up.

I am getting better. Each day is better than the day before. Each day I go to class and can notice an improvement. That’s all I can hope for. In some ways, it has been good to let go of having expectations about postures.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 04:47:07

    Listening to My Body & Being Mindful http://t.co/JDG6qvltyv #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 20:24:04

    Listening to My Body & Being Mindful http://t.co/xn6MyGQ8Lj #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

