Fit Tip#4: Meditate for Your Health

If you’re practicing yoga, you already have a meditation practice. Yoga is a form of moving meditation. An important key to a moving meditation is to engage in mindfulness. This means exactly what you think it does. You move, but you do so with full awareness and intention. You move into one posture with full awareness of your breath and body, hold it, and then move out of it with that same awareness.

And, like a sitting meditation, you do this with all those crazy random thoughts going on in your brain. As these thoughts come into our head, our job is to look at them, acknowledge them, and then let them move on. We don’t want to engage with them. So if the thought, “What am I eating for dinner tonight?” pops into my head in class, I should not actually ponder that question or start considering what all is in my fridge at home. I should just let it go. Dinner will take care of itself when it is time for dinner.

There are some crazy thoughts going on up in here.

There are some crazy thoughts going on up in here.

You can, of course, take your moving meditation off your mat. I am no expert at what this looks like, but I found a great explanation of it here. If you think about the principles discussed in the article, I think you’ll see that this can translate to walking or running (with no headphones on of course!).

I think we all have reasons why we enjoy our practice, but have you stopped to consider how the meditative aspect of it might be beneficial? Regular meditation can reduce stress, make us happier, and sharpen our minds. Check out this great visual on how meditation improves our health and read even more about how it benefits us here.

The great thing about a moving meditation is that it allows us to gain these benefits while still doing other things (like postures). If you’re practicing yoga – any form – you are also meditating. It’s a two for one deal! You could push it further by doing a meditative walk or run as well.

Of course, at some point I always come back around to the fact that I lack a regular sitting meditation. I struggle to find “time” but I also know this is an excuse I make. There are very few days in my life where the lack of time is a reason for not having a sitting practice. I could sit for 10 minutes pretty much every day. I have a desire to start a sitting practice. If you’ve been reading this blog for awhile, you might have noticed my starts and stops at getting an established sitting practice going. I tend to justify my lack of a sitting practice with the fact that I engage in a moving meditation nearly every day of the week – isn’t that enough? That’s what I tell myself because I know the time excuse is not a real reason.

I’m going to need to explore this question I have about sitting and moving meditations. Am I doing enough? Part of me thinks that if I have a voice in my head about establishing a sitting practice then that means it’s something I desire or need. I’m going to look into my questions further. Probably I should start with a sitting practice while I look!

Click on the button to check out more great Fit Tips!

Fit Tip Tuesday Button
7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 09:27:00

    My brain meditates when it works out! Well, sort of? I at least rid my brain of all it’s CRAZY (okay, most) when I work out -it’s great! I am so irrational prior to a work out and then when I am done, I feel like I can accomplish anything! 😉

    Reply

    • lahall99
      Apr 01, 2014 @ 15:15:00

      I know what you mean! I feel so much better after I go for a walk or do some yoga, etc…The key is to be mindful during our worksouts which is very, very hard!

      Reply

  2. Cassie Vaughn
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 13:39:00

    I love this tip! I’m a huge yoga fan and try to get in at least 30 minutes a day, but I have a harder time with seated meditation.

    Reply

    • lahall99
      Apr 01, 2014 @ 15:14:00

      I’m the same way! I’m wondering if I should build in some seated time even if it’s not everyday.

      Reply

  3. ursula @ Nothern Ambitions
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 08:55:00

    This is a great reminder that I need to meditate. I went to a yoga class last week and there was a meditation component but I couldn’t turn my brain off. It was a humbling reminder that meditation requires practice and will

    Reply

    • Leigh
      Apr 02, 2014 @ 09:48:04

      Yes, it does! It also requires patience. It’s so hard to sit with ourselves in silence I think, but so worth it. The hard stuff is always the best stuff, right?

      Reply

    • lahall99
      Apr 02, 2014 @ 09:49:00

      Yes, it does! It’s so hard to sit and meditate. But I think it’s fine that you couldn’t turn your brain off. That’s part of what meditation helps us do, right? We learn to sit with our thoughts and not let them be distractions.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

