Retro Throwback: Creepy Crawly Spiders

On Sundays, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago.

Last Sunday, I stayed after the beginning class with a handful of other people to prep for November’s competition. I don’t remember exactly how we go on the subject of doing Spider, but we did. I think I said it was one of the poses I selected for last year’s competition.

If you are unfamilair with Spider, it goes like this:

First, sit in lotus. Ideally, it should be a loose lotus. I like to just get in lotus and then wiggle my legs loose a bit. Second, flip onto your belly. Third, puit your hands in prayer behind your back, smile, and then push up. That’s the gist.

I did Spider last year because I seriously had few options. Spider was easy for me, and it took off a lot of pressure about selecting an advanced posture. Because I think Spider is easy, I assume it’s easy for most everyone. Not true.

During our training, one of the competitors noted that Spider was difficult. When I said I didn’t think it was, she responded by trying to demonstrate Spider for me. I don’t know which posture she was trying to do, but it was very difficult and most definitely not Spider.

I said, “That’s not Spider. This is Spider,” and proceeded to set myself up in lotus. I hadn’t even gotten on my stomach and she was telling me how she couldn’t do Spider because she cannot do ANY posture that requires her to sit in lotus. Apparently sitting in lotus is very difficult for her.

I was stunned that lotus was so hard for her and that Spider would be so difficult. She has a near perfect standing split that I am in awe of. I guess I assumed that anyone who could do such an awesome standing split could easily do a Spider. I was wrong.

Again, I am reminded that the things that come easy for me are the things I take for granted. I forget that something I think is so simple (Spider) could look so amazing and beautiful to someone else. What isn’t a big deal for me is a huge deal for someone else.

I say this also because it’s a reminder about how to think about competition. We forget how amazing and beautiful we look when we are doing our yoga for others. We forget how inspiring we can be in showing our work. And, for me, it is a reminder to not diminish what I do. So what if Spider comes relatively easy for me? That doesn’t make it any less important or something I should not be proud of. I should enjoy that posture and be pleased with how I do it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 09:36:40

    Retro Throwback: Creepy… http://t.co/GcwKD6ufYj #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 18, 2015 @ 21:44:05

    Retro Throwback: Creepy… http://t.co/Yj69OqVssI #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

