Fit Tip #5: Be Kind to Yourself

In the last two years, I have made a lot of changes to my diet. These included:

– following a vegetarian diet

– my vegetarian diet eventually gave way to a vegan diet

– breaking my addiction to caffeine

I felt my best when I was following a vegan diet, and I think I looked my best too. I was enjoying what I was eating, and it didn’t seem like I had given up or was missing anything (once I got used to it. It was hard at first). But then, my life got a little crazy. I decided to get divorced. Before I knew which end was up I had sold my house and was living in an extended stay place washing my yoga clothes in a pot.

hello vegan

It was a lot to take in. And to top it off I had a tiny kitchen with about zero space for cooking anything. At first, I stressed about sticking to my vegan diet. I don’t know why I stressed, but I did. And then I gave myself permission to let it go. I had so many things that I was worrying about and dealing with and what I ate every day didn’t need to be contributing to my stress. This doesn’t mean I ate like crap. I just gave myself permission to be ok with eating a giant biscuit with cheese every now and then – that sort of thing – and not beating myself up over it.

And now, finally, four months after moving in to my new place, I feel like I am ready to baby step it back into a better nutritional place. I started just the way I have always started – by focusing on one meal at a time. This meant I started by getting my breakfasts back under control and then slowly working my way into lunch, snacks, etc….

babysteps

I tell you all that to say this: life happens. It’s important to take care of yourself, and it’s especially important to take care of yourself when things are going a bit rough. BUT, that does not mean you are perfect. Do what you need to do to take care of yourself. Sometimes, that may mean letting go of how you prefer to do things or are used to doing things, but realize that everything is temporary. Nothing is forever.

Find more Fit Tips here:

Fit Tip Tuesday Button
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ursula @ Nothern Ambitions
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 09:55:00

    I was vegan for five years and I loved it. I felt great, I had a better appreciation for food and my body and I became a better cook. I let it go and now, a year later I’m also trying to step back into it. But I’m doing it slowly like you said. I don’t want to feel deprived and instead, I want it to be something I love and feel good about again.

    Reply

    • lahall99
      Apr 08, 2014 @ 11:18:00

      I think I became a better cook too! It was hard at first because I had to think about things in a new way, but it was worth it.

      Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 23:56:06

    Fit Tip #5: Be Kind to Yourself http://t.co/pYidnSeGDA #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

