Featured Recipe: Spicy Green Bean “Fries”

Recently I cooked up spicy green bean fries with creamy avocado dipping sauce. Note that this recipe is vegetarian because it uses eggs.

I thought the recipe looked simple and delicious. It was a nice twist on a vegetable that I, personally, adore eating. There were a few things I did differently, but they were minor:

1. I used a whole avocado and not half. Two of us killed the sauce using twice as what was recommended. Maybe we just had a thing for the sauce, but what are you really going to do with half an avocado sitting around the house? Might as well use it.

2. I didn’t have hatch chili powder. Now, I know where to go get it, but my lazy butt didn’t see the point in making the trip. I had chili powder. Good enough.

3. I have no idea how much chili powder I used, but it was probably more than what was recommended. I tossed it in with the panko crumbs until it looked like enough, stirred it around, and tasted it to confirm. I like to taste the heat. You could do this without any chili powder at all. Make it to your taste.

My only issue with this recipe was getting the panko to stick to the beans. I dipped them in the eggs, but I just had a hard time making the crumbs stick. I did the best I could and then sprinkled a butt-load of crumbs over the whole thing at the end. Yes, one butt-load is an official amount in cooking.

Once I got the beans in the oven I made the sauce. It is easy to make and you have more than enough time to do it while the beans are cooking.

avocado dipping sauce

The sauce calls for greek yogurt – not a lot. I have it in my head that I do not like yogurt at all so I bought the smallest container I could find with the understanding that I would likely be tossing the rest out.

Of course I gave it a try and guess who loves plain greek yogurt? This girl! I was surprised. I’ve tried so many different brands/kinds of yogurt that I had given up. Thought the stuff wasn’t for me. But now I have a tiny container of yogurt in my fridge to finish off.

The beans took the full 20 minutes, but they required zero attention.green beansThis is not the best picture, but you get the idea. Also, I know this looks like a mess of a dish, but it really is tasty. In the end, the crumbs sort of stuck. I also had nice, crispy crumbs clumped together that I dipped into the sauce as well. It was a win-win all around.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:14:15

    Featured Recipe: Spicy… http://t.co/BHejzEO46y #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

