Bye Bye Breathe Mat

I love my Breathe mat. I have two of them – an orange and a yellow. I’ve been using them for over two years, and I think they are so much better than a rubber mat with a towel thrown on top. My Breathe mat is comfortable. It doesn’t bunch up. It is awesome.

I decided to buy my Breathe mat because I got lazy when it came to laundry. For a rubber mat/towel combo I had two things to clean. With a Breathe mat only one. Then my studio started offering a mat cleaning and storage service. Bingo! I paid them to wash/dry/hang up my mat. And since I practice 5-7 days a week, well, let’s just say I got my money’s worth (not to mention the time and hassle it saved me!).

Breathe mats are awesome.

Breathe mats are awesome.

 

I used my studio’s service for two years. And then a sad, sad day came. They were no longer going to be able to offer the service to people who used Breathe mats. Why? Because the mats were beating the living daylights out of their washer. So, sadly, I took my Breathe mat home and began to wash and dry it myself pretty much every day.

And you know what? That mat is beating the crap out of my washer. My brand new, super shiny, super expensive washer.

When I got divorced and moved, I had to buy a new washer and dryer, and I did not skimp out here. I bought a cheap fridge so I could have a super nice washer and dryer with all the fancy bells and whistles. I suppose if I was still living in my last place with a washer that was 12 years old – and very basic – I might not care. But I decided that in this case I did care.

And so I made the painful decision – no more Breathe mat. Back to the rubber mat and towel. But guess what? I am still lazy about cleaning a mat and a towel. So I forked over the money to have the studio clean my rubber mat and store it for me. Because I know myself. I am way to lazy to clean a rubber mat 5-7 times a week AND wash a towel. Plus I get all grumpy just having to carry it back and forth. Honestly, I didn’t carry it back and forth or clean it even a single time. The mere fact that I had to haul it in once was enough for me to sign back up for the mat cleaning service on the spot.

I am lazy and spoiled.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marquita Herald
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 21:15:00

    You don’t sound lazy and spoiled at all to me Leigh – sounds like you’ve found a good product and system and are smart enough to use your energy on things that matter. Nice review and welcome to the B3 community!

    Reply

    • lahall99
      Apr 23, 2014 @ 08:46:00

      Thanks Marquita! I’ve got to get started in participating in the B3 community. Trying to get the swing of it.

      Reply

  2. William Earl Amis Jr III
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 17:51:00

    Amazing the more I find that everyone who does some type of outside exerciser Soon, give up with bringing stuff with them, as like to advertise they workout? I love that you choose to leave your stuff at the gym and allow the price you pay for membership work. That is a wise decision and you should not feel anything but great about making a conscious choice to put that membership to full use.

    Welcome to B3 and we are so happy to have you in our family.

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 05, 2014 @ 08:12:30

    Bye Bye Breathe Mat http://t.co/r4qVhYlZLO #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 16:28:02

    Bye Bye Breathe Mat http://t.co/r4qVhZcNa0 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

