Featured Recipe: Black Bean Salad

There is this great restaurant right next door to my yoga studio called Sassool. I have currently developed an addiction to their chocolate chip cookies, but that’s a whole other story. Do you know how easy it is to run next door after class and buy a giant cookie? Way to easy.

Sassool has this fabulous black bean salad. So, the other day, when I was paying homage to my chocolate chip cookie addiction, I bought some black bean salad to go. But then I realized it was so good that I had to learn to make it. I had to start eating this stuff for lunch.

While I was able to figure out most of the ingredients, I could not figure out what they used for a dressing. Luckily, I managed to find a recipe online. I made a few small changes to it which included:

  • No parsley (personal preference)
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • And whoops! I forgot the cumin and was too lazy to go back and add it in.

I made this salad (vegan by the way) on a rainy Sunday afternoon. It took me maybe 30 minutes, but I was being pokey. It was raining – where was I gonna go? I already had a giant cookie and had been to class. All important events for the day had been conquered. As you can see from the picture, it makes a lot, and it is very pretty:

004

You want to make the salad the day before and let the flavors come together overnight. It’s good cold or at room temperature. I went back the next day to Sassool and bought some pita chips (because they make them in house and practically give giant bags away for free it’s so darn cheap and yes, of course I got another cookie). I had some hummus and rounded out the salad with pita chips covered in awesome hummus. Can’t go wrong with that.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. willenaflewelling
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 15:22:00

    That looks so yummy! It calls for a number of ingredients we don’t usually have in the house, but I am going to try it as soon as I can!

    Reply

  2. Beverly Knox
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 16:12:00

    Hi Leigh I’m always delight to try new dishes.. This is one I have heard about but have never tried. This year I’m working on being more pro active with my health and plan to use this dish as a protein source when replacing my meat. I know this is one I will enjoy because it can be made in advance and later layer on lettuce.

    Reply

    • lahall99
      Apr 26, 2014 @ 16:56:00

      Yes, it is so easy to make and gets better with time. It will keep for over a week. Around a week it starts to get a little soggy, but not that bad. I’ve got lots of meatless recipes on here that I’m currently compiling into a free ebook. It’ll be available soon.

      Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 08:42:15

    Perfect time of the year for this black bean salad: http://t.co/UcyOoiyj9m

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 03, 2014 @ 08:00:25

    Featured Recipe: Black Bean Salad http://t.co/larY3MYKre #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 21, 2014 @ 03:50:02

    Featured Recipe: Black Bean Salad http://t.co/larY3NPxPq #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

