There is Only Class

Having this back injury has helped me focus. It’s allowed me to pay attention to how I move in and out of posture and notice the small, steady improvements that I’m making as I get better each day.

It’s also helped me learn to appreciate what it means to come in and give you best for each class.

It used to be that I could come in and have a bang out class. The kind where all my postures are amazing (for me), and I’m holding them super extra long and yeah, it’s hot, but in an awesome way that doesn’t bother me.

And then the next class I come in and I can barely stay standing on my mat, I’m falling out of every posture, and I can’t help but wonder what the heck is going on. In the past, I have concluded that I had a bad class. I thought some classes were great, some were average, and others were just awful.

bethebest

But now I realize that’s not really the case. There are no good/bad classes. There is only class. And class is going to be whatever it is going to be.

So when I go to class now, with my back injury, I can’t do rabbit at all. Too painful. So I lay in savassana the whole time. And that savassana is my best version of rabbit for the day. Well, ok, that might be stretching it a bit….but it is the best I can do that day.

And SH2K? I can’t grab my foot, but I can stand there with my leg up and bent. That is my best SH2K. All the ones that came before it are not relevant in that moment. I needn’t be upset that I cannot grab my foot. I need to know that I am giving my best for what I can do in the posture that day, and I need to appreciate that I can do it.

Each class is just a class. Nothing more and nothing less. Go in and do what your body allows for the day.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hollyfulfordjef
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 14:24:00

    I totally get it!! I do the best I can on that day, and that is what I teach my students.. If they get frustrated and they do, i always remind them that there is no perfect pose it’s just practice!! That goes for a heavy weight work out or cardio too!!!

    Reply

    • lahall99
      Apr 29, 2014 @ 08:06:00

      My instructor says, “It’s yoga practice not yoga perfect.” I think that matches up with what you tell your students.

      Reply

  2. Sarah Arrow
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 14:40:00

    Leigh, this is so powerful. Being in the moment and being the best you can be no matter what, well that’s a great lesson we can all learn.

    Reply

    • lahall99
      Apr 29, 2014 @ 08:05:00

      Thanks Sarah! It’s a difficult lesson for sure but one that’s worth practicing again and again.

      Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 17:00:40

    There is Only Class http://t.co/mozpVm37bJ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 08:23:20

    There is Only Class http://t.co/PiE7RZJOfX #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

