Barefoot Yoga Company

*Sponsored Post*

This last week, I had the opportunity to try out the Barefoot Hybrid Eco-Lite Mat made by the Barefoot Yoga Company(BYC). You might recall that not to long ago I was complaining that I had to stop using my Breathe Mat (it was going to murder my dryer) and had to switch back to a rubber mat. I was not happy with having to return to a rubber mat at all. So when I got asked it I wanted to try out this Eco-Lite Mat, I said sure. What did I have to lose?

Ok….What is an Eco-Lite Mat?

First of all it is lite. The mat is super thin – way thinner than any rubber mat I have ever used. BYC says they have made the “raised surfaced pattern less dense…have created a more textured feel” and have slimmed down the “weight, footprint, and price.” The mat is made from “100% sustainable and recycled mesh scrim. It does not contain phthalates or heavy metals, and its method of production is completely non-tocix and latex free.”

My mat before I sweated all over it.

My mat before I sweated all over it.

Basically, this is a super-healthy mat. If you are concerned with the materials that make up your mat, I really don’t see how it can get any better than this.

The mat really is inexpensive. The website currently shows it on sale for 23.95 (normally 26.95).  In all honesty, I thought I was practicing on a 60.00 mat. I really would pay that much for it.

So How Does it Function?

Here’s my reaction to practicing on the Eco-Lite mat: Mat? What mat? I’m standing on a mat? Seriously, the mat is so thin it felt like I was standing on just my towel. Which leads me to my next point – I just throw a basic towel on top of my mat (ok…I think they are cute towels, and one has flames all over it which I think is funny because, you know, Bikram…). But, I didn’t put anything fancy on top of my mat.

During practice the mat did not bunch up on me (my previous one always did). The towel stayed in place for the most part too. I imagine it cleans up pretty easily too. The directions say to wipe it down with a soap/water mix, but we all know I am too lazy to do that and pay someone at my studio to do it for me.

Would I recommend this mat? You better believe it or else I wouldn’t be writing this post. If you’re in the market for a new mat (or if your current one is driving you crazy) I really don’t think you can go wrong with the Eco-Lite. I brought my previous rubber mat home and have no intention of using it again at the studio.

The BYC has more than just mats so definitely give the site a look over if your are so inclined. You can learn more about them here.

What do you like about your mat? What features are you looking for?

 

Disclaimer: The Barefoot Yoga Company provided me with a mat to use and review. However, the opinions about their product are entirely my own.

 

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley Kramer
    May 07, 2014 @ 17:55:00

    Looks like a cool company! I made the mistake of buying a very basic yoga mat, which became an ultra-thin mat in only 50 classes (I weigh 230lbs). It was great in the standing series but became painful on the knees and back during the floor series – you didn’t find this 3.5mm thin mat to be uncomfortable in the floor series?

    Reply

    • lahall99
      May 08, 2014 @ 08:45:00

      I did not find it uncomfortable at all. Of course for Bikram I have to put a towel on top of the mat, but my towels are not super thick. They’re actually kind of old and frayed. My studio uses the Flo-Tex or Flo-Tec? Not sure how to spell that, but if you were practicing on a wood floor or a non-carpeted surface it might matter.

      Reply

      • Ashley Kramer
        May 08, 2014 @ 17:16:00

        Thin mats just don’t seem to work for me. I must either be a wimp or too heavy because even on carpet with a thick beach towel, my knees hurt like heck from Fixed Firm to Rabbit. My new mat is 6mm thick and quite dense, which is perfect even with a light microfibre towel on top. As for the super soft 10mm thick mat I bought, let’s just say it went on to a new home very quickly 🙂

        Reply

Leave a Reply

