The Yoga Zone

About a week ago I showed up to a class that had only four people (including myself) taking it. Three of us were all on one side of the room while the fourth was all the way over on the other end.

At first I thought class was be no fun. I love classes that are packed to the gills with people, but I at least want 15 people to show up. Only four of us? That seemed like not much fun.

But then I turned around and had a great class. Why? Because I dropped the idea that a good class – or a fun class – had to have a certain number of people in it. I just let that go.

Here I go expecting things again.

Here I go expecting things again.

Instead of focusing on the number of people in the room, I focused on myself in the mirror. I paid attention to my breath and how I was coming in and out of the postures. Before I knew it, I really had tuned out everything but myself and the voice of the instructor. Do you know how they tell you to practice like you are the only one in the room? I think that actually happened to me for the first time ever, and it was way cool.

I entered some kind of yoga zone. It was peaceful and calm and it just was. I really don’t know how to explain it other than the fact that it just was. And I am guessing that is so not helpful for you, and I’m sorry.

I can’t tell you how to find the yoga zone. There’s no direct path probably, and getting there is also probably unique to each person. I feel like I just stumbled into it. You’ll know it when you get there. Of course, I’m still trying to find my way back to it, and I suppose one day I will, but there’s no point in trying to come up with a list for how to get there again. A list won’t work. Steps won’t work. All I know is to find the yoga zone I have to go to class and focus on myself. Then, if I’m lucky, it’ll open it and let me in.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 19, 2014 @ 14:43:26

    The Yoga Zone http://t.co/kg6qlNHUGT #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 20:26:50

    The Yoga Zone http://t.co/kg6qlOyI55 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

