What’s Your Favorite Class?

A little over two years ago, I wrote about the importance of practicing in different spots in the room. The idea was not to get too hung up, and too comfortable, with always practicing in a specific spot. Change your spot, I argued, and you can have a totally different class. And I still believe that. Yes, I do have favorite or preferred spots in the room, but I try to move around a bit and I do find it helps break things up a bit.

But the other day I realized that I had a favorite class time. In the past, my favorite time was the 9:00am slot. I loved coming in first thing in the morning. You get your yoga done, you shower up, you on about your day. During the summer months, or anytime when UNC isn’t in session, you could normally find me at a 9:00 class. Once the semester started back up I was going to the 4:30pm class on the weekdays and hitting the 9:00 only on weekends – for the most part.

What's your favorite class time?

What’s your favorite class time?

Now that the spring semester is wrapping up, I am realizing I have little desire to return to my 9:00am weekday classes. I am kind of in love with the 4:30 weekday classes and the 9:00 weekend class schedule I have got going on. I see no reason to switch it up. No big deal, right? But then I realized that there are other time slots that I avoid like the plague if I can help it.

For example, while I have done a noon class before (once, just to see what it was like), I am not a noon class gal. I don’t like how it splits up my day. Plus, it throws my food schedule completely out of whack. I want to be having my lunch during the noon class. Unfortunately, there’s a no picnicking policy in the studio during class.

I also am not a fan of the 6:30pm class. It cuts into my dinner and makes my eating all weirded up for the day. Plus it puts me home around 8:30 and then I need to shower and eventually get to bed. I don’t want to be dealing with dinner at 8:30 at night after class.

Of course I notice a difference in how I practice at 9:00 vs. 4:30. At 9:00 I am much tighter. I think about food during both. But it makes me wonder what I am missing out on by never going to the other classes. The vibe is different in each class. When I took the noon and the 6:30 I barely recognized anyone! It was a whole new group of people to me. But for whatever reason, those times don’t jive with me. I’m not as inclined to push myself to go to them as I am to drag my mat to the other side of the room.

What about you? Do you have class times that are your favorites? Do you think it’s worth going to these non-favorite times now and then?

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. @do_the_posture
    May 16, 2014 @ 08:15:00

    Actually I love our 8:15PM class most of all. Yes, it can be tiring, but I’m a lot more flexible. Also, since it is the final class of the day, I can linger a little longer in the room and just check out mentally for a few minutes. Morning classes are difficult because I feel like I’m made of concrete… difficult to get moving.

    Reply

    • lahall99
      May 16, 2014 @ 09:30:00

      I’ve never done an 8:15 class. I don’t think I’ve been in a class that started later than 6:30 pm. Outside of getting home after 10:00 from yoga (and needing to shower), I can see how that time could work for lots of reasons. I’m also more flexible with the later classes.

      Reply

  2. Montana Ross
    May 16, 2014 @ 08:32:00

    I take my yoga classes usually after work- they can start anywhere between 4pm and 8pm. The 8pm class is a Restorative class, so it winds me down after a hard day at work, which I love. My hot yoga sessions are usually at 4 or 6. I don’t have much of a choice during the week because I work at 6am every day and that’s when the earliest classes start at my studio. On weekends I usually do the 9 or 10am classes though, if I’m not running.

    Reply

    • lahall99
      May 16, 2014 @ 09:28:00

      I know – sometimes you have to go when you have to go. I found myself in a couple of 6:00am classes like that once. I love early morning weekend classes.

      Reply

  3. Martha Thomas
    May 16, 2014 @ 14:45:00

    Oh man- morning yoga is SO DIFFICULT for me! I’m more of an afternoon/evening person. I love the 4:30 but with school I often have to go to the 6:30 p,m, which I agree is tough for dinner. Those nights I usually end up with leftovers that’s already ready for me.

    Morning yoga is TIGHT yoga. I’ll go to a 9 am, even 8 am. I did a 6 am ONCE during a challenge. I’d rather do a double than a 6 am again!

    Reply

    • lahall99
      May 19, 2014 @ 08:57:00

      I love morning yoga because then it’s done and I go on about my day. But I love afternoon yoga because I’m not as tight. 6 am is soooo tough. I might have to pull some 6:30 pm classes in a couple of months, but just for a week or two.

      Reply

  4. Ashley Kramer
    May 16, 2014 @ 23:45:00

    I’m a big fan of afternoon or early evening classes. I tend to be tighter in the morning, and usually feel a bit feeble because I find it hard to eat a decent breakfast in time for a morning class. I did a 05h30 class a few weeks back – man that was tough.

    Reply

    • lahall99
      May 19, 2014 @ 08:55:00

      5:30!!!! Rough! I’ve never done anything earlier than 6:00 and that was bad. Sometimes you just gotta get your yoga in. 🙂

      Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 10, 2014 @ 16:52:03

    What’s Your Favorite Class? http://t.co/X5Mvh7bIhO #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 09:15:35

    What’s Your Favorite Class? http://t.co/X5Mvh7tjpS #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

