Retro Throwback: Why Is My Knee Swollen?

On Sundays, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago.

I am covered in mosquito bites. It is truly awful. But there’s this one, on the inside of my left knee, that may be a mosquito bite or it might be something else. It is the size of a mosquito bite, and it itches like one. However, it’s got this tiny hole in the top that you wouldn’t normally see in a mosquito bite. The bite has been there for a couple of days. I haven’t paid much attention to it. I’ve gone to class with it a few times. To my knowledge, there haven’t been any issues with it in class.

But then came today.

We had just started class. I think we were still in the half moon series. I looked in the mirror and thought that my left knee area – where the bite is – looked swollen. Oh it was swollen alright. It looked like I had a golf ball surgically implanted there.

When I told this story to Mark, he asked if I had freaked out in class. I really didn’t. I thought about saying something to the instructor, but then I decided to keep an eye on it.

At some point during the standing series I noticed the swelling had gone down by 90-95%. The area around the bite stayed red. In fact, there is a red square in that area around my knee during and after class.  It’s pretty much gone now. I think class just got that area really irritated. Most likely it’s a chigger bite. I read up on it, and that seems to be my best guess. I’ve got all the symptoms.

I am impressed that I didn’t panic in class. If it had continued to swell I obviously would have reached a point where I had to say something about it. But this time, I went with the flow and it all worked out fine. I think.:)

So many interesting things happen in class!

Leave a Reply

