Featured Recipe: I Make Salads

I’m not usually the type of person who throws her own meals together based on random ingredients found in the kitchen. I prefer the safety net of a recipe. I have no problem taking out and adding in items, but I cannot tell you the last time I made up my own.

Until recently. For some reason I got bit by the salad bug, and I started throwing my own stuff together. Now, I didn’t go crazy and get super creative or anything. I just looked in my fridge, got inspired, and then picked up a couple of things to fill in the gaps. Maybe what I made will inspire you!

Recipe 1: Black Bean Salad

Inspiration: I had a lot of lettuce.

What I Made: I threw some lettuce on  a plate along with some black beans, sliced red onion, cheddar cheese, blue cheese, salsa, chives, croutons, and blue cheese dressing. Corn would be a great addition.

Post class salad

Post class salad

This salad is great when you take an evening class and need something to eat around 7:00 but don’t feel like cooking anything.

Recipe 2: Couscous

Inspiration: I had a container of couscous sitting around in my pantry that needed to be used.

What I Made: Cooked the couscous in vegetable broth then added, diced shallot, cherry tomatoes, diced cucumbers, and lemon juice. I toast pine nuts before I eat it. Keeps in the fridge all week long.

Great for lunch after a 9:00 class.

Great for lunch after a 9:00 class.

I always scoop some out in the morning because I like to eat this dish at room temperature (it’s good cold too). If I take a 9:00 class, it’s all set to go by the time I get home and shower up. I always add in extra lemon juice and top if with some fresh ground pepper. Kalamata olives would be good – I just forgot to pick some up. Feta cheese would be great, but I decided to leave it vegan.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. anitaboeira
    May 28, 2014 @ 11:56:00

    I love anything with black beans or couscous, so thanks for sharing those!

    Reply

    • lahall99
      May 29, 2014 @ 11:04:00

      You’re welcome. I’ve become addicted to black beans lately – so versatile. if you make them, tell me what you think!

      Reply

  2. Meredith S
    May 28, 2014 @ 13:05:00

    Looks good! I love these types of dishes! 🙂

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 17:35:39

    Featured Recipe: I Make Salads http://t.co/8n6ZA9HPU1 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

