Yoga, Party of One

The other day I went to class just like I always do. I had gone into my office, as opposed to working from home, so I arrived at the studio right when it opened at 4:00 (for a 4:30 class). I was the first one there, but that was no big deal.

I changed clothes, got all my gear set up, and wandered back out into the lobby. I was still the only one there so I hung out and talked to the instructor.

About 4:15 we started to wonder where everyone was. The instructor noted that the 9:00 and 12:00 classes that day had been fuller than normal, but we thought surely others would stagger in soon.

At 4:25 I asked what we would do if I was the only person there. She said we could have a silent class.

Right before 4:30 I went back into the room and dragged my mat more into the center. I was the only one who had shown up.

The instructor came in, set up next to me, and we agreed to turn the fans off for the whole class (my request). She called the postures when it yoga partywas time to go into them and said “change” when it was time to come out.

Class flew by. Literally flew by.

Because I was the only one taking class, I got to ask questions if the mood struck me. The mood struck me in toe stand. I’ve had an issue with toe stand for a couple of weeks now, and darn it if I don’t keep forgetting to ask about it!

Except for when I hurt my back, I had always been able to go down in toe stand. I can sometimes get my hands up into prayer and balance (more so on the second side than the first). But lately I’ve been afraid to go down on the first side. Something feels weird in my left knee. It felt tighter for lack of a better word. I thought if I went down and put my hands on the floor something bad could happen. So I had been staying in tree. No one had said anything to me because they probably thought I was responding to a back issue, and I kept forgetting to bring it up.

The instructor had me set up the pose in tree and looked at me. She said I was hyper extending my knee when I locked it out for tree (and yes, it would be a bad idea to go down into toe). I set up the second side, and sure enough I could see the difference! I was hyper extending on one side but not the other. It’s a very slight difference, and one I would never have picked up on if someone hadn’t identified it. But its there.

And now I have a bad habit to break. Who knows how long I’ve been doing this, but it’s been going on long enough that I automatically hyper extend my knee without thinking. My instructor told me to start bending my left knee every so slightly to work on breaking this habit. It’s made tree pose/toe stand very interesting.

I can be nice once in awhile.

I can be nice once in awhile.

 

When class was over, I went out to the lobby and learned that this whole thing of one person showing up to a class has never happened. I have a theory about it. The instructor hadn’t practiced that day, and I think my friend, The Universe, was trying to make sure she got a class in (and also help me with my toe stand question).

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. @LeighAHall
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 14:50:05

    Yoga, Party of One http://t.co/DEqYR4j7Ir

    Reply

  2. @do_the_posture
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 16:04:12

    RT @LeighAHall: Yoga, Party of One http://t.co/DEqYR4j7Ir

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 14:36:59

    Yoga, Party of One http://t.co/wR0DWZ9JzH #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

