10 Things I Learned From Being Injured

You might recall that I am in the process of recovering from what I believe is a pulled lower back muscle. Recovery has been going well. I’m steadily getting better. In fact, I experience almost zero pain in my daily activities. This is all good.

Class has been very interesting to say the least. When I first got injured back in March, every posture but eagle was effected in some way. There were a whole bunch of postures I couldn’t even do at all and most I could just kinda sort do. It was frustrating at first. Each day I would go to class thinking that I would have some miraculous recovery only to learn that was not the case. Each day for weeks and weeks on end I had to contend with the fact that I could not grab my foot in SH2K. All I could do was balance on one leg.

Really? This is all I can do at my normal tempo?

Really? This is all I can do at my normal tempo?

For the record, the first part of awkward was awful, and I also couldn’t do triangle for awhile, but I didn’t lose any sleep over that.  But oh how I about cried in SH2K.

Eventually, about two weeks in, I started to accept my fate and just roll with it. And you know what? I learned from it. So I now present to you my top 10 things I have learned from being injured:

10. You can cry and moan all you want about what you can’t do, but the fact remains that you still can’t do it.

9. Don’t focus on what you can’t do and start thinking about what your body can accomplish in that posture, in that moment, on that day.

8. Your body will surprise you. After weeks of barely being able to lift my leg in balancing stick I suddenly dropped right down into it without pain.

7. You can learn a lot when all you can do is balance on one leg in SH2K. For example, you can evaluate why you wobble.

6. When all you can do in SH2K is balance on one leg, you start to increase you ability to balance on one leg. This means sometimes your muscles hurt in new ways. This is a new form of progress.

5. Move slowly. Be mindful. Moving too quickly can result in your body reminding you that you are injured (I’m just saying there was this one time when I almost screamed in the room – literally).

4. If you can’t do triangle because you are injured sit out and smile. This won’t last forever so enjoy it while you have a legitimate reason.

3. Once you can do triangle again without pain you actually have to start doing it again.

2. Your yoga buddies are always there for you.

1. When you show up to class with an injury and do your best, you will still inspire people.

As one of my Yoga Buddies would say, Go To Yoga!

 

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley Kramer
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 22:00:00

    I couldn’t agree more Leigh. Every little tweak I’ve had since I’ve taken up yoga has taught me something – maybe just the value of persistence and staying positive.

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 01:29:28

    10 Things I Learned From… http://t.co/AQVqTyrA1L #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

