I’m Not Dead Yet

Do any of you have a yoga buddy who thinks that no matter how hot the class is it is always awesome? I have one that’s usually in the 4:30 class with me. No matter how hot it gets, not matter how drenched she is at the end, she’s always loving it and smiling. Well, the other day I walked into the room and thought,  “This room is hot, but in a good way. Yeah…this class is totally gonna rock!” I knew my YB was gonna be loving it too!

Imagine my surprise when YB popped into the lobby where I was sitting, just randomly chatting with people, to say to the instructor that the room might be a bit too hot. I think she surprised all of us (and maybe even scared us a bit). I told her I thought the room was hot but not like out of control bad hot or anything. She was not convinced.

I had set up next to YB in the swamp section of the room. The place where there are no fans and, if the instructor should so much as crack a door for a second, no breeze will pass. I had done this intentionally because: (a) I wanted to practice with YB and (b) I seriously thought it was a good idea to set up there.

Long story short – I was down on the floor by triangle. And from that point on I popped in and out of postures. I don’t know what y’all think, but I have started to believe that when I am having a bad class I feel better if I at least sit up during the posture. It’s ok if I don’t do the posture, but I need to at least sit up and watch the rest of you do it.

And as I was sitting up and, well, just sitting there, I was reminded that, hey, I’m not dead yet!

After class YB and I crawled out into the hallway where we propped ourselves against the wall and drank water. I couldn’t even imagine walking to the car. As we were doing this, and going on and on about how hot the room had at least seemed to be, a fully clothed woman turned the corner and came down the hall.

Right. The 6:30 class is next. Those people are arriving.

I looked at YB and said, “How about we just sit out here and scare the 6:30 people?”

The woman looked at us and said, “You already are.”

And somehow we managed to crawl out of the studio and get ourselves home. I don’t know about YB, but I spent the rest of the night on the couch!

 

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 17:07:02

    I’m Not Dead Yet http://t.co/REAFt0kzqu

    Reply

  2. @NeighborYoga
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 17:13:25

    RT @LeighAHall: I’m Not Dead Yet http://t.co/REAFt0kzqu

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 06:17:19

    I’m Not Dead Yet http://t.co/gpzRzn4N2I #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

