No Shame Savasana

I have concluded that there is no shame in doing savasana at any time, any place, anywhere. I imagine most of you already believe this, but let me tell you about my long-standing savasana guilt.

I experience savasana guilt anytime I want to sit out a posture. Keep in mind I’m not sitting out because I am being lazy. I’m sitting out because I feel dizzy, or nauseous, or I’m dehydrated (yep. I still slip up now and then!). You know those times – we all have them. But for some reason I feel major savasana guilt when I take an extra one (or four) in a class. Never mind the fact that when I’m in a fully sanctioned savasana I’m fidgeting and twitching and scratching an itch and rubbing my nose. I can’t seem to appreciate the savasana when I’m in it.

What’s up with that? 🙂

For whatever reason, I think that I should just push through the dizziness or whatever nasty feeling I am having and skip taking extra savasana’s when the issue arises. And yes, I do believe there is value to being mindful about why I might take an extra savasana. Am I taking it because I truly need it? Am I taking it to avoid a posture?

Ok….to be fair….I have done both of those.

And when I sit out to avoid the posture, I often use the time to have a conversation with myself about why I made the decision to skip the posture. I try to use the moment to identify whatever it is I am avoiding (triangle, I’m looking at you!).

This is how triangle looks at me. I swear.

This is how triangle looks at me. I swear.

Of course I don’t begrudge YOU taking a savasana whenever YOU need it. If I see you taking extra I’ll wish the best for you and hope you are ok. I swear I don’t think ill of people who do this. So why am I so hard on myself?

I came to terms with my savasana guilt a few days ago when I was – surprise! – having a “bad” class (there are no bad classes, right? Just class) and taking some extra savasanas. I noticed my guilt and so used my savasanas to explore it. I concluded that there was nothing to be ashamed of. There is never anything to be ashamed of when taking an extra savasana. Even when I sit out a posture to avoid it, there is no shame. I’m simply moving through whatever I need to move through – and in Bikram this happens on a physical, mental, and emotional level.

All this means that sometimes we will be physically fine to do a posture but we will be faced with other things in the mental and emotional realm that might cause for an extra savasana. That’s ok. Let it happen. Take that savasana. There is no shame.

 

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. @LeighAHall
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 07:53:26

    Ditching my savasana guilt for good: http://t.co/BO1RDUOtKU #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. @do_the_posture
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 09:36:25

    “@LeighAHall: Ditching my savasana guilt for good: http://t.co/tlPZSq3Raq #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag”

    LOVE THIS!!! #savasana

    Reply

  3. Montana
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 09:46:00

    I had a back issue this week so I had to sit out on some poses too (ugh, missed camel, it’s one of my favorites) but I’m bad at letting myself sit still! I need to learn how to embrace stillness…it’s hard for me to just ‘be’ when everyone else is moving through the poses.

    Reply

  4. @do_the_posture
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 11:28:10

    RT @LeighAHall: Ditching my savasana guilt for good: http://t.co/BO1RDUOtKU #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jun 15, 2014 @ 10:07:00

    No Shame Savasana http://t.co/LFIENfWNJI

    Reply

  6. Neighbor Yoga (@NeighborYoga)
    Jun 27, 2014 @ 10:19:25

    RT @LeighAHall: No Shame Savasana http://t.co/AMdsfprA4K

    Reply

  7. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 28, 2014 @ 02:57:23

    No Shame Savasana http://t.co/BO1RDV5wMU #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  8. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 29, 2014 @ 08:18:37

    No Shame Savasana http://t.co/BO1RDVn7UY #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

