Ode to Swamp Girl

Recently, I blogged about having a favorite class time. I noted that while I used to be a big fan of the 9:00 time, I am currently addicted to the 4:30 time. This is generally turning out to be true. Monday-Friday, I am now a 4:30 girl (unless my schedule forces me into a different time slot). On the weekends, I tend to prefer the 9:00 class.

Whatever. It is what it is. A Yoga Buddy showed up to a 4:30 the other day (she’s usually a 9:00 kinda girl – I think), and noted that she rarely sees me anymore because I am running with a new crowd.

It’s kinda true. No disrespect to my 9:00 yoga buddies (I miss you all! Come to the 4:30!), but I’m getting a whole new set of yoga buddies by coming to the 4:30.

More importantly, I am learning to love it on the hot side of the room with Swamp Girl.

I think Swamp Girl is going to be fine with me calling her Swamp Girl. I think she’ll get a good laugh out of it. Swamp Girl only practices in the Swamp section of our studio (except this one time, a very long time ago, when I somehow managed to drag her to the other side of the room). The Swamp is the area where there are no fans and no air circulation. So yes, it is a bit hot and stinky back there. But sometimes, you need a class like that, am I right?

swampfire

Well, I like to practice near Swamp Girl – either next to her or in front of her. She’s got great energy and can hold out in the toughest of classes. Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve ever seen Swamp Girl curl up in a ball and sob in class (which I do at least twice a month….ok….maybe more….). Swamp Girl inspires me to set up in the Swamp and be uncomfortable. She pushes me.

Yes, sometimes I do avoid the swamp. If I feel like that’s just pushing it too much based on the day I’ve had, or if the room is 1000 degrees and class hasn’t even started yet, I set up where I can get at least a tiny bit of fanage. But lately, I have been loving it up back in the Swamp.

Tweet: See the Annoyed Yogi’s 30-Day Challenge! http://ctt.ec/05m04+ #bikramyoga

And this is not to suggest that every class in the Swamp is brilliant. It is far from it. But I know if I am having a bad class I can catch Swamp Girl and make a face or roll my eyes or generally indicate that I am near death and she will smile and make me feel better.

We all need a Swamp Girl in our lives. One that pushes us and supports us. Who is your Swamp Girl?

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. @LeighAHall
    Jun 13, 2014 @ 08:14:35

    Who pushes you and makes you better? http://t.co/EDt5oldK5c #yogaholicsmag #bikramyoga

    Reply

  2. Neighbor Yoga (@NeighborYoga)
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 10:19:51

    RT @LeighAHall: Ode to Swamp Girl http://t.co/VVZM9uCqTI

    Reply

Leave a Reply

