Featured Recipe: Spinach & Avocado Sandwich

Recently, I found myself with a bit of leftover spinach. I had just come off of a week of eating a vegan grilled cheese and caramelized onion sandwich (delicious).  I was wondering what to do with my leftover spinach when I stumbled across the spinach and avocado sandwich. It looked so healthy and yummy. How could I not pass it up?

It’s also a great sandwich to make for dinner after class as it requires about zero effort. All you have to do is toast the bread, mash up an avocado, and chop up a jalapeno. Once the bread is toasted add your ingredients on in any amount that makes sense. That means this takes about 10 minutes.

10 minutes to deliciousness.

10 minutes to deliciousness.

Of course I could not eat an entire avocado at once meaning I had leftovers. How to keep it from turning brown? I hoped on the internet – speaker of Truth – and did a quick search. I found a site (which I have since lost – sorry) that said to put it in plastic wrap and get all the air out. So that’s what happened.  There are lots of suggestions out there for how to keep your avocado fresh, but I went with this one. It involved the least effort (kitchen lazies! I have them). The result? The avocado kept just fine, and I used it on a sandwich the next day.

If you are concerned about your avocados holding, I suggest making the vegan ranch dressing. While I did not do this, I think it would work for this sandwich. The dressing is made from avocados (and really works more like a spread than a dressing), and it will keep for a week in the fridge in a regular container.

Tweet: Perfect time of the year for this black bean salad: http://ctt.ec/_4UYz+

The sandwich itself is, as a friend described, “complex.” My jalapenos were fresh, and they were a little on the hot side for a jalapeno. The sandwich definitely had some heat. Note that I made this sandwich with a friend, and it was determined that the best way to do this is to spread on the avocado, top with feta, then add jalapenos, and then conclude with the spinach. Putting the feta on second helps it adhere to the bread pretty well. I had maybe a crumb or two of it fall out.

This is a great summer sandwich, and it’s a wonderful meal after a class.  Avocados have tons of nutritional benefits including being high in potassium and protein – all things Bikram yogis need!

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. @LeighAHall
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 12:53:58

    Yummy spinach and avocado sandwich! http://t.co/cHjGP0opIX #vegetarian http://t.co/QkiiVnlnmM

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 10, 2014 @ 08:51:13

    Featured Recipe: Spinach… http://t.co/cHjGP0FsKX #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 26, 2014 @ 09:17:37

    Featured Recipe: Spinach… http://t.co/cHjGP0X3T1 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. @rodneyt2
    Dec 25, 2014 @ 14:32:20

    RT @LeighAHall: Yummy spinach and avocado sandwich! http://t.co/cHjGP0opIX #vegetarian http://t.co/QkiiVnlnmM

    Reply

Leave a Reply

