New Obsession: Suja Juice

Recently, my studio started selling Suja Juices. I had never had one before, and I was interested in trying one. First, let me tell you a bit about the juice. According to their website:

All of Suja’s juices are certified Organic, Non-GMO & Kosher and are processed using cold pressure (also known as High Pressure Processing or HPP) to kill harmful bacteria while preserving nutrition and taste.

If you’re like me, you’re probably wondering about this cold pressure process. Suja’s website explains it as such:

We cold press, hydraulically. First we grind or cut the produce into a fine pulp. Then we apply thousands of pounds of pressure to the pulp extracting every ounce of juice that the fruit or vegetable has to give. This results in you receiving the most nutritional value possible. Cold Pressure, also known as High Pressure Processing retains food quality, maintains natural freshness, and extends microbiological shelf life without heating to high temperatures. After our juice is bottled, a high level of cold pressure is applied evenly to destroy pathogens and ensure the juice is safe to drink while preserving vitamins, enzymes and nutrients.

So the question….how good is it? The answer: fabulous.

yummy green juice

yummy green juice

Seriously, it tastes like it just came out of my juicer. I couldn’t do a better job myself. If you juice, imagine what your favorite juice tastes like. That’s exactly what Suja tastes like.

They have a number of concoctions to suit your taste. I’ve only tried two – the Fuji  and the Green Supreme. This is probably because I am a green juice kind of girl. You can go here to see some of their juices and what is in them.

There is one downside to Suja, and that is the price. At my studio, I can get one 16 oz bottle for a little over 7.00. Apparently they are a couple of bucks more at Whole Foods (so I’ve been told…don’t consider me a reliable source on this since I haven’t bought one from there). However, on the Suja site, one bottle does sell for 8.99. So the question become….is it worth it?

I’m going with yes. It is totally worth it, and here’s why.

If I want to make my own juice, and have one 16 oz to drink each day for a week, it will run me about 50.00. And I’ve got this down to a science. I know where to buy the best fruits and veggies at the best prices around town. However, buying the best fruits and veggies at the best prices around town requires me to visit two stores. Then, it literally takes me all afternoon to juice.

So that’s 50.00, plus gas, plus the time it took me to shop, plus the time it took me to make all the juice, plus the time it takes to clean everything up.

If I were to buy seven juices from my studio, it would run me about 55.00. If I had to buy them elsewhere – and let’s just use the 8.99 online price – it would run me about 65.00.-70.00. Is the juice that good that paying that little extra is worth it?

Yes, yes it is. I am not joking. My days are using my juicer might be done. And nothing against the juicer. I have a fabulous Breville that I love very much, is worth every penny, and is super easy to take care of. But the idea that I don’t have to spend 50.00 and an entire afternoon – really an entire day when you factor in shopping – is too much to pass up. How much is my time worth? Is it worth that 5-10.00 more that I might pay? Yes, I believe it is. Because this stuff tastes like it just came out of my juicer.

Do you have any experience with Suja juices? What do you think? Is it worth packing in the juicer for?

If You’re Local…..I Have Something Special For You!

If you practice with me, you’ve probably already noticed the Suja juices in the fridge at the studio. Did you know they come to us from Juice Keys? Juice Keys is a locally owned company and one of the owner’s, Chris, practices at the Raleigh studio. Juice Keys has a storefront, and they sell the Suja juices there for 7.68. You can get it for a bit less at the studio but not much. Juice Keys also sells some protein powders. I haven’t tried them. Just explore their site and you can see what they have.

If you live in Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill, you can even get your order delivered to your home. for only 1.00 extra! All deliveries are made in the afternoon from approximately 4:00pm – 7:30pm.  The juices maintain their temperature for approx 5 hrs after delivery.  They deliver juices in coolers with ice (however, they will soon be upgrading to ice-packs).  The juices, obviously, need to be refrigerated once you get home.  All orders placed before 4pm are delivered on the same day (after 4pm, they deliver on the following day).  

And there’s more! Follow this link  to learn about the different discounts you can get simply by purchasing your juices – or other products – through Juice Keys.

And here’s the best part…. Head on over to Juice Keys and tell them you learned about them on my blog. They will give you one free Suja juice to try. You have to go to the actual Juice Keys store. Don’t try to get your free juice at the studio – it will not work! 🙂 Of course once you try your juice you will be hooked, like me, but I say the more the merrier!

 

 

 

*this was not a sponsored post. i spent my own money on my Suja Juice and reviewed it because I loved it

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 14, 2014 @ 08:42:27

    Love @SujaJuice ! So fresh and no juicer to clean up. 🙂 http://t.co/lF156bpGRd #vegan #juicing

    Reply

  2. @DyanSohn
    Aug 14, 2014 @ 13:20:39

    RT @SujaJuice: Glad we could make it easier! RT @LeighAHall: Love @SujaJuice ! So fresh and no juicer to clean up. 🙂 http://t.co/cPR8ol2Gv…

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 14:50:08

    New Obsession: Suja Juice http://t.co/JCjhS6DIRe

    Reply

  4. @J_Goldin
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 15:57:44

    RT @LeighAHall: New Obsession: Suja Juice http://t.co/JCjhS6DIRe

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 15, 2014 @ 05:29:14

    New Obsession: Suja Juice http://t.co/UyiQvfJuPJ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

