Retro Throwback: You Should Keep Doing It

On Sundays, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago.

The other day, I got this great comment from finoarl who said:

I definitely think yoga has much more of an impact on other sports that a lot of people realise or give it credit.  I find a regular yoga practice really maintains my strength and staminar and I really feel the difference this makes to the other sports and activities I do!

I completely agree. And let me tell you, people notice too!

When I was in Puerto Rico, I spent a day doing some hiking, free-climbing, zip-lining, and rappelling. Early on, we had to hike/climb up a steep slope. It was one of those things were it was sorta hiking but more like crawling up a dirt incline while grabbing on to tree roots. When I got near the top, one of the guides was there to give me his hand and pull me on up. As he did so, the following conversation occurred:

Guide: You’re a runner, right?

Me: No. I used to be, but not anymore.

Guide: Well you do something. You’re in great shape. What do you do?

Me: Bikram yoga.

Guide: Whatever that is, you should keep doing it.

I don’t want to give the impression that the other people in my group were not in good shape. We all free-climbed up a waterfall, and I don’t think anyone had any problems, and no one slipped or got scratched up. What impresses me is how I can manage to be in good shape doing just Bikram. It defies all logic to me. Yes, I enjoy going for walks. I will take a walk everyday if the weather is good. But when it’s cold (and you all know what I consider to be cold), I’m not going out there. I am not a super-trooper like my 87 year old neighbor who will brave the cold to walk up and down our street.

Of course the day after I did all this stuff I was massively sore. But I used different muscles or used my muscles differently. In any case, I hurt for about two days.

How have you noticed Bikram effecting other physical activites you do?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 07, 2014 @ 21:51:40

    Retro Throwback: You Should Keep Doing It http://t.co/rQlPlodp4K #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 09, 2014 @ 14:50:09

    Retro Throwback: You Should Keep Doing It http://t.co/daTCwTfJqT

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 23:37:15

    Retro Throwback: You Should Keep Doing It http://t.co/kGo3N0tvse #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

