Soon I’ll Only Be Able to Breathe

So I’m guessing everyone has heard enough about the comings and going of my back issues. And of course that injury has had an impact on my practice. Then I had the tooth debacle – which made some aspects of my practice less than pleasant during that time. And now, in the true spirit of things happening in threes, I hurt my big toe.

I like to give you everything in threes. You are welcome!

I like to give you everything in threes. You are welcome!

I don’t have a good story for y’all about how I hurt my toe. It was a massive case of me running my mouth, not paying attention, and attempting to walk up the stairs. I didn’t lift my left foot up high enough and my big toe slammed and bent in right up against one of the steps. It hurt so bad that The Boyfriend wanted to know if it was jammed or broken.

The Boyfriend sat me down on the steps (or maybe I collapsed there – this part is fuzzy) and asked me a series of questions about my toe. Based on my answers, he concluded I had jammed my toe and not broken it. It hurt for the rest of the night.

The next morning it still hurt, but it wasn’t swollen or bruised. I decided to test it out the only way I could think of – the second part of awkward posture. Because when you have a toe issue the one thing to do that makes sense is go up on your toes, attempt to balance, and move slowly into a seated position. It hurt, but not too bad. I concluded The Boyfriend was probably right. It was jammed and not broken. The more I walked on it the better it felt. I did skip awkward that day in class. It wasn’t comfortable to do at all.

But let’s be honest here. If I keep this pace up of injuring myself in one way or another it’ll get to the point where I show up for just the first and last breathing exercises. and do a very extended savassanah in between.

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 07:41:57

    I am slowly falling apart: http://t.co/zAiY71uhQb #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. Mark Quast (@do_the_posture)
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 09:40:29

    RT @LeighAHall: I am slowly falling apart: http://t.co/zAiY71uhQb #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 08, 2014 @ 17:07:08

    Soon I’ll Only Be Able to Breathe http://t.co/k317mGwOax

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 16:39:58

    Soon I’ll Only Be Able to Breathe http://t.co/OQ1BnheUpq #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 12:27:02

    Soon I’ll Only Be Able to Breathe http://t.co/KU5VzGX2jr #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 07:52:49

    Soon I’ll Only Be Able to Breathe http://t.co/zAiY71LSHJ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

