I’m So Not in the Moment

One of the great things about having a regular yoga practice is learning to be in the moment. Being in the moment isn’t easy, but I have gotten better at it (both on and off the mat) over the last 3.5 years. One of the interesting things about being in the moment is recognizing when I am not in the moment. I think recognizing when we’re not in the moment is an important part of learning to be in the moment.

Whenever I recognize that I am not in the moment, I have the opportunity to come back to my breath, focus, and get back into the moment.

Recently, I realized I was so not in the moment during class. Tell me if this has ever happened to you….

I was going through class and, from what I recall, everything was just fine. I wasn’t having a great class, and I wasn’t having a horrible class. We had just finished spine strengthening. I did my two sets of fixed-firm. After my second set, I was down in savassanah. Then I sat up and prepared myself to do rabbit.

What the???? You mean we’re just up to half-tortoise? I swear I did that AND camel, didn’t I?

The other way it manifests is when I’m in rabbit and realize my last memory of a posture was fixed firm. I literally have no memory of doing any posture from fixed firm to rabbit, and yet I must have done them. I think I’d remember it if I had sat them out and prayed for death. What happened during those postures????

I was totally spaced out.

I was totally spaced out.

I don’t think it’s good that I sometimes have no memory of doing one or more postures.

I don’t think it’s good when I think I’ve done postures but haven’t.

Actually, in writing this I have realized a few things:

(a) when I said above that “I don’t think it’s good…” I need to not be focused on labeling these moments as good or bad. I have simply identified places where I wasn’t in the moment. That’s it.

(b) both my examples came from the same general part of the sequence. I seem to shift out of the moment somewhere between fixed firm and rabbit….interesting…..

It’s good to recognize when we’re not in the moment. Recognizing when we’re not in the moment helps us to cultivate a more mindful practice and life (it’s a theory I’m working on…). If I lacked awareness then I wouldn’t be able to tell when I wasn’t in the moment and wasn’t giving my full attention to my practice.

Two Years Ago on MBYL

One Year Ago on MBYL
Tweet: See the Annoyed Yogi's 30-Day Challenge! http://ctt.ec/05m04+ #bikramyoga

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 08:35:41

    Ever realize you’re in #yoga class but not mentally there? http://t.co/XuENnQxZKF #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 14, 2014 @ 09:20:36

    I’m So Not in the Moment http://t.co/gQZXdr2Nnu #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 05:13:19

    I’m So Not in the Moment http://t.co/cKOpftijEe #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

