Food & Drink & Judgment

Do any of y’all spend your time in class thinking about what you will eat after class is over? I have noticed that this seems to consume my thoughts. If I’m eating at the Mediterranean place next door, I’ll spend at least part of class (at the very least every single savassanah) imagining what I will order. Sometimes I spend a great deal of time hoping they have spaghetti – which is a special now and then – and thinking about what it will taste like. They have very good spaghetti. Sometimes I consider not IF I want dessert but what KIND of dessert I will be purchasing.  And sometimes I evaluate how much wine I have and think through if I need to get some more on the way home. I have no problems going into your store post yoga/pre-shower.

Other times I imagine what I will eat when I get home. This has resulted in me working out a meal plan for my entire day while I am in a morning class and even coming up with a dish based on random spaghettiingredients sitting around in my fridge. I often fantasize about carbs. Spaghetti really does seem to be a thing here.

Recently I went to a 4:30 class after having a fairly large lunch earlier in the day. Since I knew I wasn’t going to be interested in dinner, I spent time in class plotting what I would have for lunch the next day. I knew I would be at my office and started considering various restaurants within walking distance. Where had I not been in awhile? What did I feel like eating? We’re doing what pose now? Ha ha. So not in the moment! 

I also use food and drink to provide a very valuable service to my home studio – very valuable. I have no problem sitting on the bench in the lobby before class eating a piece of baklava (bought next door) and drinking a diet coke (also bought from next door). What am I doing? I am teaching non-judgmental practices! What would you think if you saw someone eating baklava and drinking a diet coke in a yoga studio lobby? You shouldn’t be thinking anything except perhaps how you too can get some food and drink and join me on the bench. 🙂 I also have zero problems sitting on the bench after class and drinking a diet coke while people walk in for the next class. Sometimes a coke just tastes good after class.

No judging! 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 08, 2014 @ 07:42:26

    What do you eat post #yoga? http://t.co/iM8x4pZkHY #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 28, 2014 @ 23:05:03

    Food & Drink & Judgment http://t.co/EHzy8B2OfU #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 01:10:05

    Food & Drink & Judgment http://t.co/VaXdRBCHuz #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

