Just Go With It

The other day I had, well, I had a day. Need I say more? It started off simple enough. I took the dog to the vet for a rabies shot, and then I dropped her off at daycare to get a bath and have a fun play day while I went in to the office for meetings. Initially I had considered attending the 6:30 class that evening. I wasn’t sure what I thought about that, but I held it in the back of my mind as an option.

When I went to get my little pug-girl, I was informed that she had some issues going on. Apparently she had been partying hard with some other doggies and had gotten out of breath. She was breathing hard and having a hard time catching her breath. They had crated her in a room by herself and had someone sit with her to try to get her to calm down, but they had considered rushing her off to the vet. Whatever happened really freaked them out – but apparently she did calm down somewhat.

Ain't no party like a pug party.

Ain’t no party like a pug party.

I wasn’t sure what was going on, but I stayed calm. My mind didn’t spin out of control with a 1000 scenarios of what might be the problem. They brought puggers out to me, and she immediately got excited and started having some breathing issues. So back to the vet we went.

Pugs have breathing issues to begin with because their little faces are smashed in. This can make it challenging to figure out what is going on. I knew something was up, but the vet was having a hard time figuring it out. So they took my little girl off to get a chest x-ray.

I remained surprisingly calm. Again, my mind didn’t spin out into a 1000 horrible scenarios. It tried. I had a thought enter my head about a tumor or cancer or something horrible, but I literally flicked it right out of my head. There was no need to go down that path. The only path I needed to be on was the hanging out and waiting path.

The chest x-ray was fine. The conclusion was that it was likely her vocal chords had gotten swollen. They offered a mild sedative to calm her down (I took it) and gave her a shot for the swelling. Little girl was going to be just fine.

By the end of the second visit, I had spent about 300.00 on the dog, was starving, and knew I was not going to yoga. I was going home, taking a shower, eating, and crashing in front of the tv.

And I was ok with that. I was ok with ALL of that. I didn’t freak out over spending 300.00 on the dog in a single day (I normally would have a mild panic attack), and I was good with addressing my own personal needs (tired, hungry, smelly) and skipping class.

And while I didn’t go to yoga on this day, I credit my ability to remain calm and in the moment to my yoga practice. This is a huge part of what yoga teaches us, right? Stay in the moment. Be present with ourselves and those around us. Sure, random thoughts did spin into my head, but I let them keep on spinning right out. I didn’t invite them to stay. And for once, staying in the moment was not terribly difficult.

So go to class. Set up your mat. Look at yourself in the mirror. Be present. Repeat as often as you can. Eventually it starts to trickle out into everyday life.

Tweet: See the Annoyed Yogi's 30-Day Challenge! http://ctt.ec/05m04+ #bikramyoga

 

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 16:35:05

    How #yoga helps you stay present in your day: http://t.co/ZyfuQ2Q1CA #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmage

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 02:01:25

    Just Go With It http://t.co/ieeSVCPS0V #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 23:29:19

    Just Go With It http://t.co/4JErC4x1rl #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

