Giveaway: You Need Snacks

*sponsored post*

You know what you need after class? Snacks. And, if you’re like me, you probably need a snack before class too. Recently, I had the opportunity to try a popcorn snack – G.H. Cretors popped corn to be exact. They were looking for people who would be interested in trying out their popped corn and reviewing it (and giving one of you some for free!). I raised my hand and volunteered. Of course I volunteered. I am hungry all the time.

I didn’t know exactly what I would be getting until a fairly large box – fairly large for popcorn – showed up at my doorstep. I opened it up and found twenty-four 1.5 ounce bags of their Chicago Mix. The Chicago Mix is a blend of caramel corn and cheese corn. Now, I love me some cheese popcorn, but caramel? Uh….not so much. Caramel corn has never been my thing. It’s a personal preference.

But there sat 24 bags of Chicago Mix so might as well try it out.

Turns out I love, love, love, their caramel corn. I was amazed because, while I tried to enter into eating it with a good attitude, I still had the assumption that the caramel corn would be tolerated at best.

This is what 21 bags looks like (we had already eaten three).

This is what 21 bags looks like (we had already eaten three).

Nope. I will actually dig around in a bag to root out the caramel corn. It is that delicious. It melts in your mouth. I immediately ate one bag. I could have downed a second, but I decided to pace myself.

Later on, the Boyfriend, who had made a face at the idea of eating caramel corn, tried a bag. He declared it to be delicious and said the same thing I had about the caramel corn – not usually his sort of thing but in this case? Yummy. He did not pace himself and immediately went straight to a second bag after finishing the first (I may or may not have helped with the consuming of two additional bags).

What’s in This Stuff?

Ok, so the popped corn tastes good, but what’s in it?  It’s got only stuff you know. I won’t list it all out because you can access it online. I do though want to highlight a few things:

  • While the Chicago Mix isn’t vegan. They do have some vegan options. Organic Simply Salted and Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil are vegan.
  • They use sunflower, olive oil, and/or safflower oil to pop their corn. No hydrogenated oils are used.
  • They use only non-GMO ingredients
  • It’s all popped and packaged in a facility in Illinois
  • Finally, they use brown rice syrup in their caramel corn. This might explain why I enjoy it so much. Here’s their explanation about brown rice syrup taken from their website:

GH Cretors has chosen to use brown rice syrup (instead of corn syrup) for many reasons. Besides the fact that brown rice syrup has a wonderful crisp sweetness, unlike refined sugars it has a low glycemic value. This means that it doesn’t cause a sudden spike in blood pressure or a sugar “high” after it is consumed. Its composition is 50% soluble carbohydrates, 45% maltose and 3% glucose. The glucose is immediately absorbed and metabolized, maltose takes from an hour to an hour and a half, and soluble carbohydrates take 2-3 hours to be metabolized and energy released. This results in constant supply of energy spread over a long time rather than a sudden rush.

Brown Rice also has many benefits.  It’s a good source of minerals, which are carried over to its byproducts like brown rice syrup. It’s also a good source of magnesium, potassium and manganese.

Want to Try it?

G.H. Cretors is giving away a twenty-four, 1.5 ounce package of Chicago Mix to one of YOU! You have to reside in the U.S. to win (sorry my international readers!). And while there are no nuts in their corn, it is produced in a facility that processes tree nuts. So if you have a nut allergy, best to pass on this one.

The last time I tried to use Rafflecopter for a giveaway it failed, and now I have become fearful of using it again and having to go through a do-over. So if you want this, just type enter into the comments section. Deadline to enter will be noon on Sunday, September 21st. I will announce the winner on Monday, September 22nd in my post. So make sure you come back and read MBYL on Monday! Good luck.

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 10:45:04

    You need #free #snacks @GHCretors http://t.co/f0Y2tlRHj1 http://t.co/MNXPZnqN5S

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 15, 2014 @ 13:30:28

    Giveaway: You Need Snacks http://t.co/huPqSxXpy3 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 04:21:43

    Giveaway: You Need Snacks http://t.co/f0Y2tm9ir5 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:22:37

    Giveaway: You Need Snacks http://t.co/f0Y2tlA5Ur #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

