Retro Throwback: Vegetarian Lettuce Wraps

On Sundays, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago.

This week it’s Vegetarian Lettuce Wraps courtesy of The Pioneer Woman. I love lettuce wraps. I think they are so much fun to eat, and yet at many restaurants they contain meat. I also thought that would be lots of fun to make at home, and I was right.

This dish is so easy you could make it on a busy weeknight with no problem. It requires almost zero thinking. That’s how easy it is. Make sure you use organic, non-GMO tofu (my opinions, but still, who wants modified soybean?). I actually found organic non-GMO tofu at my local grocery chain. I was stunned. So it may be pretty easy to find.

The Pioneer Woman suggests you put sliced avocado on your finished wraps. I couldn’t agree more. It makes the wrap a bit creamy which is a nice contrast to the crunchy lettuce. Here’s my final product:

We decided to make the full recipe just for the two of us and have nothing else. That worked out fine (the recipe makes plenty and will keep for the next day). However, I would definitely add something else as a side. If I made this again – and I would – I’d add jasmine or fried rice. There’s enough ingredients in the wraps that I would keep the rice fairly simple and plain.

Let me know if you give this one a whirl.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 01:32:07

    Retro Throwback: Vegetarian Lettuce Wraps http://t.co/ebLfkDyjQf #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 03:17:23

    Retro Throwback: Vegetarian Lettuce Wraps http://t.co/ebLfkEp7er #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

