You Can Eat Doughnuts

The other day I walked out of my office to find a few people sitting around a table in the suite eating lunch. In the middle of the table was a box of doughnut holes.

I stopped dead in my tracks.

“Are those doughnut holes?”

“Yeah, you want one?”

“I hate you for bringing these in,” I said.

“That’s not very nice. You do yoga. You can eat a doughnut hole.”

Shoot. I can eat several doughnut holes. You can have complete confidence in that. I opened the box and took the chocolate and the powdered sugar doughnut holes. I had taken a bit out of one when it hit me – surely I needed to be in a yoga posture with my doughnut holes!

Eagle. With Doughnuts. In a dress.

Eagle. With Doughnuts. In a dress.

Of course I was limited because I was wearing a dress, but I think you’ll find that I accomplished the goal just the same.

What I Can Eat Because of Yoga

Ok…I’m not going to lie…I get a decent amount of compliments (from women) saying that I am in good shape, my skin looks nice, etc…They often ask me if it is due to all the yoga that I do. I am sure the yoga contributes to it, and I tell them this. I am sure there are other factors too like what I eat (or don’t eat), not smoking, genetics, and so forth.

I find it interesting though that people think it is ok for me to indulge because I do yoga. Before I did yoga I used to run. You can take all the same kinds of comments about how I looked and what people thought it was ok for me to eat because I ran. Apparently, there’s a belief that because I exercise regularly it’s ok to eat crap now and then.

I’m not disagreeing. I enjoyed my doughnut holes.

But actually, I shouldn’t indulge that much because of yoga. If you’ve been practicing long enough, you know that whatever you put in you will come out in the hot room. Put in one or two tiny doughnut holes, and you won’t notice a thing. Eat a giant burrito and you will pay the price.

What it means to eat looks different for me now that I practice. I am way more mindful about what I consumer. Yes, I am. Even if I am sitting on the bench drinking a coke before class, I swear to you that was a mindful decision I made.

I never said all my mindful decisions were in my best interest. I simply accept the decision that I have made and am aware of the consequences it can bring.

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL
Tweet: Help @TheAnnoyedYogi be the most popular post! http://ctt.ec/eeS4x+

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 17, 2014 @ 21:50:39

    You Can Eat Doughnuts http://t.co/eGfDsXpeXF #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 22:28:39

    You Can Eat Doughnuts http://t.co/PhrTTT1fMI #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

