Featured Recipe: Couscous Salad

Can I just say that this whole pinning thing has gotten completely and totally out of hand. I have 200+ pins on my vegan board – or maybe it’s my vegetarian board – doesn’t matter. That’s more than a year’s worth of food when you consider some of this pins have multiple recipes in them.

I feel overwhelmed. I need to scale it back. I need to par it down to my essential dishes and then expand out from there.

I feel like deleting so many pins and starting from scratch, but what fun would that be? But seriously, I gotta start cleaning house with pinterest.

All that aside, I am happy to be getting back into the swing of trying some new vegetarian/vegan dishes. Recently, The Boyfriend asked me if I would cook dinner for him. He’s not a vegetarian. He most certainly is not vegan. He does not understand how to cook in ways that don’t feature meat (generally speaking). But he was open and willing to try some new things. So for awhile I will be bringing you some dishes that are BF approved.

Today, I bring you one of those dishes – a couscous salad with vegan sausage.

I didn’t use a recipe for this one. I was at the store one day and spotted some Israeli couscous and grabbed it. I love Israeli couscous. It’s a little bit bigger and rounder than what I normally use. I cooked it at lunch (takes about 15 minutes) because I wanted it to cool before dinner. I like this dish at room temperature.

I let the couscous cool for about three hours. Then I added in cucumbers, grape tomatoes, and feta. You could do this with or without cheese. I let it sit out on the counter and went to yoga.

004FYI: Cheese is actually supposed to be served at room temperature. You can leave it out like this in a salad for several hours with no worries.

When I got back from class, I took my shower and then made the vegan sausages. I used Field Roast Italian sausages.  The Boyfriend has already tried one of these several weeks ago and LOVED them. He was astounded by how much protein was in one (25 grams). He suggested I always have these on hand.

I prefer to cut up the sausages and cook them with olive oil. This enables me to get them nice and charred all around. It’s just a personal preference. I mixed in some of the sausage pieces with my couscous. The Boyfriend put his on the side.

I made two cups of couscous, and it was plenty for us both. It also provided leftovers. I had some for lunch the next day (minus the sausage), and it was fantastic. This is a dish that can work well for lunch or dinner.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 29, 2014 @ 17:11:41

    Lovely couscous salad. Make it #vegetarian or #vegan. Your choice! http://t.co/rZzBc5UXKl

    Reply

  2. Bill Affourtit (@waffourt)
    Oct 06, 2014 @ 08:42:29

    Featured Recipe: Couscous Salad :: My Bikram Yoga Life http://t.co/gXc03A9UeJ

    Reply

  3. @Couscous_Party
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 03:21:01

    RT @LeighAHall: Featured Recipe: Couscous Salad http://t.co/63Wupla6rY #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 00:37:26

    Featured Recipe: Couscous Salad http://t.co/63Wupla6rY #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

