Featured Recipe: Goat Cheese Pizza

Last week I shared my newest couscous salad recipe. I also talked about how The Boyfriend had expressed interest/willingness to let me cook some new things for him. This time around he got a pizza, but not just any pizza. I delivered a Caramelized Onion and Goat Cheese Pizza with Toasted Pine Nuts.

I don’t know what you think of that, but he made a face. And it’s wasn’t a happy smiling one either.

You're making a what?

You’re making a what?

This pizza takes about an hour to make, but that’s only because of the time it takes to caramelize the onions. It’s really very simple to do. I don’t know where I got this idea from, but I am happy to share it with you all today. Here it is in a few basic steps:

1. Get your dough. I don’t make my own. You can, and if you do this will take longer. I buy mine at the grocery store for 2.00. So get your dough and give it time to rise.

2. Caramelize your onion. I used one red onion of about medium size.

3. While the onion caramelizes, read a book or whatever, I pulled a stool up next to the stove so I could keep an eye on everything. Go ahead and heat your oven to 450.

4. Get your dough rolled out and put it on your pan. Did you know that if you sprinkle the pan with corn meal the dough won’t stick after it’s been baked? ’tis true. It can make a bit of a mess, but I find it worth the little extra clean up.

5. Distribute your onions over the dough. Note that this a white pizza – no sauce!

6. Crumble goat cheese on. Best place to buy goat cheese? Whole Foods. You can get a large, plain log for 5,99.

7. Put the pizza in the oven. It’ll need 10-15 minutes.

8. While your pizza bakes, toast the pine nuts. I just heat up some olive oil in a small pan and throw in what looks like a good amount to me. Pine nuts toast fast and can burn very quickly. Keep an eye on them. I drain them on a paper towel. When the pizza comes out I sprinkle them around on top.

It will look something like this:

003

Despite The Boyfriend’s lack of a happy smiling face (initially), he declared the pizza to be amazing and asked that I make them more often. When we had the pizza again the following week he suggested that the next time I made it I add some Field Roast Sausages to it (the Italian kind). He kinda likes Field Roast Sausages.

Final note: This pizza is best eaten on the day you cook it. You can eat leftovers the next day, and it will be ok. It is best straight from the oven.

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 24, 2014 @ 18:25:07

    Featured Recipe: Goat Cheese Pizza http://t.co/2I2IiC5tvc #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 15, 2014 @ 23:10:59

    Featured Recipe: Goat Cheese Pizza http://t.co/2I2IiCWgTo #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

