Don’t Question the Camel

I have backed off of postures, as you might recall, to give my back a chance to heal. One of things that I did was to ease off during spine strengthening series and camel. I don’t know why exactly. I guess because these postures focus on my back/spine, and I was being sensitive to the injury. Nothing was hurting during or after the postures. I think I was just concerned about doing further damage.

One day, it was suggested to me that if I could grab my heels in camel then I should at least consider trying it and seeing what happens. For awhile I had been putting my hands on my hips and leaning back, but I was not grabbing my heels even though I probably could. I was concerned about hurting my back. However, I was pretty far along in the healing process. I expected that if I had any back issues as a result of doing camel I could back off and everything would be ok.

So I did it.

Camel Benefits And dang it if I didn’t start to look forward to camel.

Let me be clear – I never said I liked doing camel. I just started to look forward to doing the posture. This is a weird love/hate relationship. I get that. It made my back feel great, but I do hate doing back bends. Apparently that’s not ever going to change.

Once I got over my concern about doing camel, I started to push myself in the spine strengthening series. Not everything was a joy to do, but it made my back feel so fabulous. Sometimes I pushed myself a bit too hard and was basically wiped out after bow. There were times I had to skip camel because I was so out of breath from spine strengthening, and I felt really, really sad that I wasn’t doing camel.

So camel is awesome. Ok, fine, I get it. It’s been great for my back. Thank you camel. Sorry I ever doubted your awesomeness.

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 30, 2014 @ 15:17:47

    Don’t Question the Camel http://t.co/zNzclVXhMY #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 20, 2015 @ 09:53:59

    Don’t Question the Camel http://t.co/otCKPXcIM4 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

