Remember the Rabbit

I went six months, six months, without doing SH2K, Rabbit, and Stretching. And now I’m back in business which feels great. I mean, I am really, really feeling great in class, and I am enjoying being able to get back into those postures. But you know what?

I forgot how hard rabbit can be.

For the first month that I was doing rabbit I was reminded of how utterly uncomfortable the posture is. It’s very uncomfortable tucking your chin in to your chest. And forehead on the knees? Not even remotely close. Every time I rolled forward my forehead was waaaayyyy out in front of my knees. I tried to walk my forehead up to my knees but mostly I found myself coming out of the posture early. Why?

rabbit poseMy upper back was hurting! Not a bad hurt. It was more like a massive stretching/cramping thing going on. It was intense, and I could only take it for so long.

But I kept doing rabbit day in and day out. I often wondered if the posture had always been that difficult and uncomfortable and I had just forgotten.

And eventually, after about a month of doing rabbit,things got better. I started getting my forehead closer to my knees when I rolled down. My upper back was less and less tight. The uncomfortable feelings went away or I just got used to them again. Either way, rabbit was slowly but surely make a comeback.

Lesson Learned = The posture is what it is which is not always what it was the day before or what I think it should be now. If it’s uncomfortable today, it’s uncomfortable today. It could be something entirely different tomorrow. Embrace what it is giving you today.

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 15:53:33

    Let’s talk about rabbit posture: http://t.co/UNXZfOJkzL #bikramyoga

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 10:56:26

    Remember the Rabbit http://t.co/UNXZfOJkzL #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 02, 2014 @ 13:57:41

    Remember the Rabbit http://t.co/454GtfMFyC #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

