Featured Recipe: Lentils with Spinach

For the fourth Monday in a row, I bring you yet another featured recipe. You can thank The Boyfriend who has shown interest, excitement, and appreciation for me making vegetarian foods for him. I appreciate his willingness to give it a shot.

003The other day I came home from class and decided I was going to make something that had been sitting around in my pantry a long time: Tempting Lentils with Spinach. This was an impulse buy at the grocery store a long time ago (maybe two months? maybe longer). It had just sat around, and I decided it was time to get down to the business of cooking it.

 

Now, while this came from a box the ingredients are all things you have heard of. Basically lentils, spinach, and a bunch of spices. I tend to like to have stuff like this around for days when I need something quick or don’t feel much like cooking. I asked The Boyfriend if he wanted any, and he said no. He was not interested.

That was fine by me because it looked like I would have enough left over for lunch the next day. Bonus!

I started off by making some Basmati rice. Note that rice does not come with this. You’ll have to supply your own. I did cook the rice with actual butter making this dish vegetarian. You don’t have to do that. You could omit the butter or use Earth Balance (which The Boyfriend is a big fan of).

Once the rice had finished I started with what was in the packet. You just dump the contents into a pan and let it cook until it gets hot. Takes about 3-5 minutes. This gives you time to add more butter to the warm rice and let it melt in.

Then all you have left to do is put some rice in a bowl and put your lentils on top. So, how was it? I thought it was fine. I did find it to be a bit bland and would have liked it spicier. I suppose I could always make those adjustments myself.

The Boyfriend (who said he wasn’t going to be eating this) changed his mind once I had served myself and he took a look at it. He loved it and didn’t think it was bland at all. He ate his right up and then happily finished what was left of mine.

The Final Product

The Final Product

Would I make this again? Yes. First, The Boyfriend really enjoyed it. Second, while I found it to be bland it wasn’t that bad. It was quick to make and served its purpose.

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 07:47:15

    Lentils and Spinach: http://t.co/yCMSn49Wbx #vegan #vegetarian

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 19:24:36

    Featured Recipe: Lentils with… http://t.co/53gUVTYlsZ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Mar 20, 2015 @ 10:08:53

    Featured Recipe: Lentils with… http://t.co/yCMSn3SkMX #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

