A Bounty of Bikram Blessings

I am so excited to introduce y’all to my newest Yoga Buddy – The Yoga Princess! I was so inspired by her blog that I asked her to share her story with you here so you could meet her too. Please enjoy her post.

In the spring of 2013, I hit a rough patch and, unbeknownst to me, much stormier weather awaited me in the summer. As I talked with one of my dear friends, she remarked to me that she knew how I could change my life for the better. “Bikram Yoga—you have to try it. Just once.” I’d practiced various forms of hatha yoga over the years, but never imagined that practicing in a hot room would actually benefit me, but I felt desperate. I wanted happiness. Sure, I wanted to lose weight (I’m classified as morbidly obese), but, more than that, I desired inner peace and a greater sense of self.

One Monday morning I decided I’d give Bikram Yoga a shot. I gathered my courage and met my friend at the studio where she practiced. I don’t remember much about the specifics of that first class, but I clearly remember how I felt after: my whole body felt lighter than it ever had; my mind and heart soared with happiness. They call this the “yoga stoned” effect!  I flitted about that entire day, like a butterfly soaring to new heights. I went back later in the week and have been going ever since, practicing an average of six classes per week.

When I started going to Bikram classes, I’d wear bike shorts, a sports bra, and a long top. I had to find a way to hide by stomach. Material wouldn’t disguise the fact that I happened to be the biggest person in the room, but I lacked a sense of body-esteem and didn’t really want to be seen. Life, however, had other plans in store for me.

yogaprincessThe more I went to Bikram, the more my friend Kara encouraged me to start my blog—Confessions of a Yoga Princess. She’d been witness to the changes I’d experienced so far in my journey and she believed I could help people with my story. As I kept sweating my way through Bikram classes, and looking at myself in the mirror, I developed the courage to start sharing my story with others. As I became more expressive with the world, through my blog, I became more comfortable with myself and my body. Soon I started wearing bike shorts and a sports bra to class, no long top to hide what can’t really be hidden.

Bikram yoga, along with the people I’ve met through my practice, have helped me through the toughest time of my life—the loss of my father, an absence I still feel. In the year and a half I’ve been practicing Bikram and blogging about my experiences toward self-acceptance, I’ve borne witness to my ability to go further than I ever thought I could. I share my grief, my body, my struggles with healthy eating and weight loss, along with my innermost thoughts, so people know that they too can accomplish anything with just a little bit of determination and a whole lot of sweat!

Check out the Yoga Princess on FB...

And her blog

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 23, 2014 @ 07:38:01

    Come meet the #yoga princess: http://t.co/ryf95gJl0y #Bikramyoga

    Reply

  2. @iggiesue
    Oct 23, 2014 @ 19:17:42

    I’m a guest blogger at Bikram Yoga Life: http://t.co/i8dbMMZhat #bikramyoga #bikram #yogaprincess #myrealyogabody #yoga #YogaEveryDamnDay

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 06:56:13

    A Bounty of Bikram Blessings http://t.co/mig8kVSAjA #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 00:42:48

    A Bounty of Bikram Blessings http://t.co/75XZk7CaVf #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 28, 2015 @ 14:28:41

    A Bounty of Bikram Blessings http://t.co/ryf95h0VS6 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

