I’ve Never Gone 100 Days

I have always been curious about doing a 100-day challenge. I know I have no problem showing up to class. I am however interested in seeing what it does for my physically, mentally, and emotionally.

One day, this will happen.

One day, this will happen.

Recently, I noticed that it appeared I had space in my life to doing a 100-day challenge. I was super excited because usually something gets in the way (vacation, work travel, etc..). I had the whole thing mapped out on my calendar (Day 30, 60, 100). Then, two days later I realized something: I have a hole in my mouth from where my tooth got pulled back in July. I have to get that fixed.

Dang it. That kinda messes up my 100 days. I’m gonna miss at least two, and possibly three, days of yoga. I’ll miss class the day of the procedure, and I won’t go the next day. Even if I feel pretty good the next day, I won’t be hydrated and fueled up well enough to go. I did think about asking if I could get the procedure done in March or May so I could do my 100 days, but let’s be honest – I just need to go get that stupid implant in and be done with it.

I didn’t want to get my implant put in until December after the semester was over. So before I went in to see my surgeon for the pre-implant consult I mapped out where Day 60 was. Turns out, it’s on December 11th. Fine. I’ll see if I can get the implant done the week of the 15th. Let’s at least get a good 60-day challenge in was my thought.

Well, it turns out that they did not have room the week of the 15th, and they had limited options in December because they were so booked up already. But guess when I could come? December 11th. That’s right. Day 60. That means this just turned into a 59-day challenge. My record is 66-days. I kinda wanted to beat 66-days, but at the very least I wanted to hit 60.

I held on to Day 60 very, very tightly. I was almost worried that I was gonna have to give it up. The next available option became January 5th.

I gave you 84-days. Be happy.

I gave you 84-days. Be happy.

I have to teach an 8:00 am class in Chapel Hill on Tuesdays starting in January. Were classes in session on the 6th? Turns out they don’t start until the 7th.

Hooray! January 5th it is. This means I can do an 84-day challenge. Today will be class 18 in the challenge.

And just for the record, I am not pulling doubles to get myself up to 100. I mean, I could, but that’s not what I’m into. I actually want to see what it’s like to go to class 100 days in a row.

When I told The Boyfriend that I was going to do a yoga challenge, he responded with the most horrific look on his face.

“Why are you looking at me like that?” I asked. “You don’t have to do anything.”

“Oh Thank God,” he said. “I thought it was going to be some horrible Bring-A-Friend-to-Yoga-for-30-Days.”

No. But that’s pretty funny, right?

As I got into my challenge I started to make little notes about each day. Here is my recap for you of Day 1-17:

Days 1-10: Pretty normal stuff. Nothing much interesting going on here,

Every now and then THIS dude shows up to class.

Every now and then THIS dude shows up to class.

Day 11: The first Class of Death hits. I start going down at triangle. I take some water before camel. The teacher says we should try not to drink until after rabbit. True, but what she doesn’t know is I have no intention of doing camel or rabbit.

Day 12: Recovering from Class of Death. Do most of the postures.

Day 13: Rocked it. Locked my right leg when I kicked it out for SH2K. Held triangle the entire time on both sides for both sets. I’m pretty sure that was a first. Held both sets of camel the entire time.

Day 14: See all that stuff that happened on Day 13? None of it happened today.

Day 15: My period has started, and I feel like vomiting. I go to class anyways and feel a bit better for it.

Day 16: I showed up. I took class. Hooray for me!

Day 17: Ok…three things:

(a) I was introduced to a new student as, “This is Leigh. She comes here everyday.” Love it.

(b) During class I noted that eating popcorn as a snack before yoga is a bad idea. I need to stick with snacks that have a proven track record such as giant chocolate chip cookies, brownies, and baklava.

(c) I got a compliment on my triangle! Something about how it’s really coming along. But still!

I’m kinda sad to fall just a mere 16 days short of 100. BUT, that being said, I think this is a good example of how you can make the best of it. As one of my yoga buddies likes to say, “Go to Yoga!

Come back next Thursday to see how days 18-24 went.

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 30, 2014 @ 07:50:13

    The 84-Day Challenge: http://t.co/IwcVvG0WdT #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 11:31:56

    I’ve Never Gone 100 Days http://t.co/pLGe1BSXIZ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

