Challenge Update! Days 18-24

Well bummer. I received news the other day that I am going to need to travel during this challenge. It’s not really an option, and it is going to bring the challenge to a screeching halt sooner than I would like. I’ll be able to get up to 41 days instead of  84. I’ll then have to miss three days. But when I return, I plan to go right back until I hit the dentist on January 5th (a 40-day streak). Then I’ll probably have to miss three days (two for sure).

But hey, I’m not gonna get down about it. While I really wanted to break my 66-day streak at a minimum, you can’t control what you can’t control. So let’s just keep going to class, ok? Today marks the 24th day in a row for me, and I’m rounding the corner on completing a 30-day challenge. Not exactly small potatoes. Let’s see what the week has brought for me.

challengeDay 18: Get bad news about 10 minutes before class starts. Was in shock for an hour. Started crying somewhere around triangle. Kinda fell apart on the floor. No one can see you crying in class, but you have to really watch your breath. I was starting to gasp for air a bit. Thought I was gonna have to bolt out of the room when a stomachache hit (as a result of stress I imagine) but managed to stay in.

Day 19: Crying before I left the house for class. Not a good sign. Don’t actually cry during class and get through it all just fine.

Day 20: It’s my birthday! I get a song in triangle. The Boyfriend tells me I am somewhat difficult to shop for. He claims I have exactly two interests: (a) chocolate and (b) yoga. Yes, he said chocolate first. Let’s be honest – chocolate and I have a longer history. I get Godiva chocolates and a new jacket to wear to yoga. All of this is packed in an adorable pink bag that he bought for me to haul yoga stuff around in.

Days 21-22: These are just days. I show up, I do class, and I move on.

Day 23: I feel great until I hit the mat. Then I realize I don’t want to take class. AT ALL. Thankfully I do the 9:00 class so I am done with it first thing. I do all of the postures. Yes, it does count even if I only hold the posture for two seconds.

Day 24: I am the one who brought the leftover chocolate Halloween candy into this studio (on Day 23). I will eat as much of it as I want before class. There will be no judgments. Given my success of eating giant chocolate chip cookies, brownies, and cupcakes before class, I suspect this will not be an issue. I am correct.

Some General Thoughts On the Challenge

I’ve done 30-days in a row before, so I wasn’t expecting to much excitement for the moment. However, starting around Day 21, I began to notice the following things:

(a) I sleep better. Oh my goodness do I sleep better. I sleep so incredibly soundly and perfectly that it is just amazing.

(b) I wake up feeling awesome.

(c) I am breaking out on my face. During my first 30-day challenge – which seems like forever ago – I had a massive breakout. It wasn’t pretty. This one is small in scale, but I still notice it.

(d) My digestive system is so efficient it is freaky.

(e) My eczema is acting up, but I think that may be from stress and not from the yoga. I am experiencing some stress right now, and that will bring it on. I just note it here for you.

(f) I have a day here and there where I could literally eat everything in the house without consequence, but  for the most part my eating is fairly even.

Come back next week for an update. I’ll have hit my 30-days by then!

Two Years Ago on MBYL

One Year Ago on MBYL

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 07:31:58

    Challenge update! Days 18-24: http://t.co/8e4G0ZKT09 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. Mark Quast (@do_the_posture)
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 08:16:51

    RT @LeighAHall: Challenge update! Days 18-24: http://t.co/8e4G0ZKT09 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 11, 2015 @ 16:45:38

    Challenge Update! Days 18-24 http://t.co/XIKX3mvTdM #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Mar 30, 2015 @ 00:00:39

    Challenge Update! Days 18-24 http://t.co/XIKX3lWHea #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

