Challenge Update! Days 25-31

I continue to be astounded by the events taking place during my first 31 days. I really didn’t expect much to happen. I sort of thought I would have to make it deep into uncharted territory before I noticed anything. It goes to show you that even if you practice 5-7 days a week (and I did prior to this for a very long time), you can still benefit from doing even a simple 30-day challenge.

Ok – simple is relative, right? If you practice 5-7 days a week a 30-day challenge is not too much to ask for. Here’s our weekly recap:

I'm here for the week.

I’m here for the week.

Day 25: Second class of death has arrived. I start going down in balancing stick and never really recover. When we get to camel I realize we have about 15 minutes of class left which seems like an impossible eternity to survive. I survive.

Day 26: I almost didn’t make it. Left the lights on in my car at work and killed my battery. Thought I would go to the 6:30 pm instead but I realized it was Friday and 4:30 was the last class. It is now 3:30. I remain rather calm about this. My battery is dead. What’cha gonna do? The Boyfriend suggests I call campus police. I do, and someone is there almost immediately. I am on the road at 3:40. Besides, getting worked up requires me to use energy that I don’t have.

Day 26 is all about recovering from class of death. I do all the postures (I think…brain is starting to go fuzzy on me). But I really do need a massage. I need a massage everywhere. My hamstrings and quads are so tight, buy my hips are starting to become more open. When I set up triangle I can get my leg bent parallel to the floor, but it hurts so bad to hold it there. So very, very bad.

Day 27: I have no memory of this class. I showed up. I recall that it was hot.

Day 28: Is this class almost over yet? What do you mean we’re only on awkward? Oh man, this is going to take forever to get through isn’t it? This was like a mini-class of death. The person next to me asked me if I was ok at some point. I didn’t know I looked that bad. I was just sitting down. I took a two hour nap after class – the kind where you don’t move at all. All my postures are falling apart.

Day 29: Again, I have no memory of this class. I am losing my mind.

Day 30: I made it to 30 days! Woo-hoo! To celebrate, I signed up for an 8-hour class and tried to kill myself. Time is relative in the hot room, ok? I am reminded of the Annoyed Yogi’s 30-Day challenge.

Day 31: Third class of Death. It is not a good sign when I want to sit down as soon as we start the first breathing exercise. No matter that I ate a giant cookie before class. No cookie can save me now. My goal today was to stay in the room and breathe. I reminded myself that sometimes my yoga for the day is all about my breath and not freaking out. I don’t do most postures. But if I may channel my friend The Annoyed Yogi, I would have to say that this class sucked many asses. The Boyfriend gave me some mumbo-jumbo about how yoga should be fun. Spoken like someone who has never done a challenge.

Reflections & General Noticings

1. My skin looks great.

The swirling vortex of no fun showed up too.

The swirling vortex of no fun showed up too.

2. So do my legs.

3. That eczema cleared up – for the most part. I really think it was stress. I mean, last week I was crying in class for God’s sake.

4. I am in a massive yoga hole. This is some Class V Yoga Hole nonsense happening right now.

5. I cannot believe how much this week sucked. Like every single class sucked.

6. I have to wonder, how much of this challenge is really a mental one for me? When I sat down on Day 31 I thought about if I was sitting down because I was dizzy or because of something else. I think it might be something else. I will need to explore this.

7. Despite all the horribleness of class, I feel amazing outside the hot room.

Make sure to come back next week! I’ll be updating you on Days 32-38.

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 07:50:01

    Challenge update! Classes 25-31: http://t.co/UwfE1gdWwk #bikramyoga #yogaolicsmag

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Challenge Update! Days 32-38 :: My Bikram Yoga Life
  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 16:33:23

    Challenge Update! Days 25-31 http://t.co/8bFb4m5YoZ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Mar 01, 2015 @ 18:44:24

    Challenge Update! Days 25-31 http://t.co/UwfE1fWl7K #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

