Challenge Update! Days 32-38

I’m about at the end of the first part of my challenge. I will go through Day 41, then have three days off due to work travel, and then I’ll be back on for 40 more days. Then I have 2-3 days off for the dentist. Then….we’ll evaluate.

This week I had class with a yoga buddy who I had not seen in awhile. I was hanging out in the lobby before class when he came in. Just to give you a sense of where my head is, here is the conversation we had:

YB: How are your classes going?

Me: Eh…last week totally sucked. Classes were horrid. This week they are mediocre. I don’t care. I’ll take mediocre over horrible.

YB: [responds with a blank stare]

Me: OH! Are you talking about the classes I teach at UNC?

YB: Yes.

Me: Oh my God. I was talking about my challenge classes. No wonder you’re looking at me like that. Those classes are just fine.

On To the Challenge

Day 32: I said a prayer before class that today wouldn’t suck. It seems to have worked. Today was tolerable.

Day 33: Another uneventful day. I’m thankful for that. Having had an entire week of suck, I now appreciate a thoroughly mediocre class.

Day 34: I spend the entire class thinking about food and the fact that I want to bake cookies. I got a massage today, and it was amazing.

Day 35: Not to bad of a class, but not too great. I am starting to get my head on my knee again in SH2K (on my left leg only). But I’m not obsessed with this. I used to be totally obsessed with it. But now I just take it as it comes. If I get my head on my knee great. If not, no big deal. I am learning to take the posture for what it brings me each day.

Day 36: OMG. It was hot in class. Well, it was probably normal and I just thought it was hot. I was a bit out of it. In the second set of awkward, for the second part, I decided to do the third part. So I ended up doing the third part twice. I thought it was time for spine twisting when we were on the posture before it (I set myself up for it and everything!). Yeah….that’s how class went.

Day 37: Not to bad. I felt pretty good for most of the class. Even had a decent triangle.

Day 38: My period started. Need I say more? Felt like I was moving through mud for most of the postures.

Reflections On My Week

This week was pretty mediocre, but it was better than last week. I’ll take mediocre over last week anytime. Nothing too exciting happened. I simply continue going to class. It’s really not that hard. You just show up. I think all this yoga might be making my butt look better. I’m just saying….

For Day 39, I have this crazy idea that I might do a double. This week has been hectic, and the next two weeks are crazy busy, but Day 39 isn’t. It’s like this little peaceful oasis in a land of go/go/go. Doing a double (not back to back; I’d do a split day) sounds kind of relaxing. Have I gone mad? I don’t know. But it sounds like a nice way to treat myself given the pace I have to keep for awhile.

Two Years Ago on MBYL

One Year Ago on MBYL

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 07:24:24

    The first part of my #challenge is almost here: http://t.co/Fnqp3IZtux #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 18:45:52

    Challenge Update! Days 32-38 http://t.co/ztd6cCBInD #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 10:08:22

    Challenge Update! Days 32-38 http://t.co/Fnqp3IqgXT #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

