Retro Throwback: Vegan Taco Salad

On Sundays, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago.

I just made the easiest, yummiest, vegan taco salad ever. EVER.  I have this huge collection of vegan links on Pinterest, and I am committed to working my way through them and fleshing out the best ones. The Vegan Taco Salad belongs in the best of collection.

Let’s break the recipe down a bit:

First: It might seem strange to use chickpeas in a taco salad . Why not use black beans? Well, I think you could use black beans, and I might use them in future versions. However, the chickpeas work! Trust me on this one. I made the taco seasoning mix the author links to in her recipe and used it to season the chickpeas as directed. It was fabulous and tasted very much like you would expect a taco salad to taste like.

Second: I bought canned chopped tomatoes. The recipe calls for a fresh tomato, but I hate chopping up tomatoes. I think a canned, pre-chopped tomato works just fine. Do what makes you happy here.

Third: Having chopped tomatoes and salsa is not too much tomato. I bought freshly made salsa from the grocery store. It works well alongside the guacamole.

The glorious salad

Finally: There is no dressing for this salad, and you do not need it. The tomato. salsa, and guacamole solves the need for dressing. I considered buying vegan sour cream. If you like vegan sour cream, it would probably work well. I think it’s just ok so I decided to pass. I didn’t miss it. You’ll also notice from the picture that I served my salad in a flour tortilla which is different from the recipe. When I made the salad again the next day, I chose not to use the shell. The salad itself was plenty. But making a fun baked shell to serve the salad in is kinda fun. I dipped it in my leftover salsa.

You can also use the chickpeas for other things. My recommendation is to make an entire can of the chickpeas. Store the leftovers. The next day, you can throw them onto a warmed tortilla and add salsa, tomatoes, etc…and that works very well. This chickpea sandwich that was born from this may be my new go to lunch recipe for awhile.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 11, 2015 @ 08:44:48

    Retro Throwback: Vegan Taco Salad http://t.co/ysmFnugCYN #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    May 02, 2015 @ 01:04:25

    Retro Throwback: Vegan Taco Salad http://t.co/iKikUntw5b #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

