Challenge Update! Days 9-15

I found myself really struggling this week. I had lots of classes where I was sitting out postures and just couldn’t even imagine standing up. At first I thought I was tired. I was coming to the end of an insanely busy three weeks. Then I thought I hated yoga. I wasn’t quitting or anything – don’t get me wrong. But I was pretty sure I hated yoga and had developed a horrible attitude (or mattiude because my hatred only showed up when I got on the mat).

Then I remembered something. Back when I did my first challenge (66 days), I had to start taking supplements. Somehow, I figured out that I needed to be taking magnesium and potassium. I started to think that perhaps this was what I needed to do here. I knew I wasn’t having any hydration issues, but I just felt so run down on and off the mat. I figured it couldn’t hurt. So I hauled my butt to the store and bought those supplements.

b12In addition, I started taking a B12 vitamin everyday. B12 is a really important vitamin for vegetarians and vegans to take. If you eat meat, you are getting your B12. If not, then you’re not. Pretty simple. You can get enough B12 as a vegetarian, but as a vegan it is really difficult. Vegans can get B12 through nutritional yeast, but I don’t use nutritional yeast daily. By the way, if you have not used

I had transitioned back to a predominately vegan diet. Once in awhile I would have a meal that was vegetarian. So I realized that some or all of the difficulties I was having could be connected to needing B12, magnesium, and/or potassium in my diet.

I’ve been taking B12 daily for at least a week now, and I’ve been taking the magnesium and potassium daily for four days. I feel so much better. Nothing else has changed in my diet. I am more coherent and don’t feel run down at all. My classes have slowly started getting better. In my last two I haven’t needed to sit out any postures – and I’ve been sitting our postures for at least a couple of weeks. It got so bad I couldn’t remember when the last time it was I felt I was capable of doing camel.

I say all this to remind you that if you are practicing a lot (or doing a challenge!) it is important to evaluate how you feel physically, emotionally, intellectually, etc… If you notice a negative pattern, it could be because you are simply tired, but it’s important to take the time to really engage with what you are experiencing and consider why it might be occurring. Making small changes to your diet or some other aspect of your life might be in order.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: madonna louis vuitton bilder
  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 12, 2015 @ 08:47:29

    Challenge Update! Days 9-15 http://t.co/Hz3C0oovi2 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Apr 25, 2015 @ 15:58:51

    Challenge Update! Days 9-15 http://t.co/Hz3C0o6U9Y #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

