Featured Recipe: Spaghetti with Lemon & Parmesan

This is a vegetarian recipe that is Boyfriend approved. Actually, The Boyfriend is starting to catch on to the fact that my vegetarian and vegan cooking is very tasty and not at all terrifying.

I wanted to do a very simple dish that can be thrown together in a pinch. And I believe the author of today’s recipe  pretty much just invented the sauce based on things she saw lying around in her fridge. So you may already have what you need.

The thing to know about this recipe is that I read it a hundred times because I couldn’t believe I wasn’t supposed to heat the sauce. The recipe calls for you to make a sauce that includes:

1 cup (250ml) cream
3 cups finely grated Parmesan/Pecorino cheese
juice and rind of one lemon
1tsp Dijon mustard

However, nowhere does it say that the sauce is to be heated. You mix it all up and toss it onto cooked spaghetti. I had the cream, but I was too lazy to grate the parm. I just threw a block into the food processor. So this is what I got:

014

 

You can already see I’m dealing with chunks here. I think I thought the chunks would melt when I put them on the hot spaghetti. They did not, and I got a meal that looked like this:

016

 

Not bad – but chunky (and totally my fault). However, later on The Boyfriend made it again with leftover sauce. He heated the sauce and melted the cheese down. It was fabulous! So – if you are lazy like me and don’t want to grate, that’s fine. I don’t think you have to. However, I do recommend that you heat up the sauce. It was fine added directly to the spaghetti, but it was even better when it was heated up.

Ok – simple vegetarian spaghetti meal. What more could you ask for? Perfect for the winter.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:07:10

    Featured Recipe: Spaghetti with Lemon & Parmesan http://t.co/9nslleGEyq

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 03, 2015 @ 07:40:08

    Featured Recipe:… http://t.co/EzOPX1G9KE #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Apr 03, 2015 @ 16:47:34

    Featured Recipe:… http://t.co/EzOPX1oyCA #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

