Challenge Update! I’m Not Even Counting….

I can tell by looking at last week’s post that as of today, I have completed 22 classes in a row. I noted to someone the other day that I would be able to get to 40 before I had to go to the dentist to get my implant. So this is either count up to Day 40 or a countdown to a trip to the oral surgeon. I decided to stop counting.

I say that, but do you know that Day 30 will be on Christmas Day? How awesome is that. Super Awesome, that’s what.

But in all honesty, I have stopped counting. It used to be when I got to the studio I would check in and post on FB what day I was on. But I just can’t keep it straight anymore, and does it really matter? All that matters is that I get up and go. And that I do. So we’re all good here.

However, I still have some highlights from the last week that I have collected to share with you. I hope you enjoy them.

Highlights

1. Last week, I explored the idea of including supplements in my diet. I think this mattered. A lot. I have been taking my B12, potassium, and magnesium,  every single day for approximately two weeks. I feel great. I do not feel run down at all. My practice has gotten so much better. I do still sit out a posture now and then, but it’s not because I feel like I am too tired to do them. My overall mattitude has improved as well.

water2. I accidentally had a no water class and didn’t freak out. I am really getting good at being in the moment and going with the flow. I was about halfway to the studio when I realized I had no water with me. I had left an entirely full bottle sitting right by the door. I could have bought water at the studio, but I didn’t feel like it. I knew I was hydrated and could do the class, and I did. No big deal.

3. If it’s one thing I am learning from this challenge is that it is important to go to class every single day. Now, I know that in reality that’s not going to happen. But I am seeing the benefits of going daily, and I have to tell you  – it is absolutely worth it. Sure, there will be times when I don’t go, but if I can go I’ll be there from now on.

4. What are the benefits? Well, I ‘m not certain they have anything to do with the postures. Postures seem to get better, and then they fall apart. I’m actually not too focused on how my postures are/are not improving. I show up and do them. And that, right there, is a key benefit. I am learning to let go and just be. I am learning that my posture is whatever it is at the moment I am doing it. I might note more or less flexibility with a particular posture on a given day, but that’s all. I don’t keep a running record in my head, and I am getting good at not comparing day to day or across weeks or across the challenge. This learning to just be is key for me in everyday life. It’s helping me find greater peace with whatever life throw at me. I’m more mindful and less reactive.

Next Thursday is Christmas, and the week after that is New Year’s Day. Look for challenge updates to happen on 1/29 and 1/4. I’ll be back on a regular posting schedule the week of January 12th.

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 16:23:50

    Challenge Update! I’m Not… http://t.co/TyGy2R4ztW #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Apr 22, 2015 @ 23:29:23

    Challenge Update! I’m Not… http://t.co/TyGy2QdM5K #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

