Featured Recipe: Vegan Toast

Oh I know….today’s title is a little less than exciting. Vegan toast? Do you really need me to help you with vegan toast? No, not really. But I thought I’d offer up some suggestions anyways.

See, here’s the thing. I suck at breakfast. I have never been a breakfast person my entire life. I am not a big eater at breakfast and often I force myself to eat at least a little something. I know if I don’t I’ll pay for it later. But I cannot bring myself to cook at breakfast, and I am not at my most inventive or creative. This is how I end up eating a lot of breakfast bars.

Recently, I came across an Ode to Toast which presented me with four new ways to make toast. The one that looked most appealing to me was The Vegan Delight which includes hummus, avocado, slow-roasted tomatoes, hemp hearts, pepper, and sea salt. And while this looked totally delicious and easy to make, even I found a way to make it simpler for those of us who are just to lazy to care at breakfast.

I got myself some bread and hummus. I did not buy an avocado. The thing with avocados – which I totally love – is that they go bad real quick. Plus, it’s just me eating the toast so I’m not going to be eating a whole one at breakfast. However, my grocer sells Wholly Guacamole  which works well in place of an avocado. It comes in a tub, it lasts plenty long enough for me to eat it, and I don’t have to cut anything up in the morning. It is beautiful. I bought it. I also got myself a can of tomatoes and decided I didn’t care about hemp hearts. I later learned I am too lazy to open a can of tomatoes in the morning. That can has been sitting in the pantry for a solid week (maybe two).

But, here’s what I do with what I got. First, I have no toaster so I just pop the bread in the oven underneath the broiler. This works better than a toaster because I only let one side get toasty. I flip the bread over on my plate so that the soft side gets the hummus and what-not spread on it. This ends up making for a crunchy/soft combination that I love. I spread the hummus on and then I put my guacamole on top of it. I suppose I could add salt and pepper, but I don’t. The hummus and guacamole are plenty of flavor. I acknowledge I have tomatoes in a can and get to eating.

014

 

This is the perfect thing to eat before I head out for a morning yoga class. If someone awesome in your life has made you tiny, adorable chocolate chip cookies that happen to be sitting in your kitchen those will work well as a side to the toast.

Take a look at the other ideas for vegan toast and let me know what you try!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 22, 2014 @ 08:42:41

    @eatwholly I am totally in love with you! http://t.co/f0gbUbpnFD

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 22, 2014 @ 17:07:02

    Featured Recipe: Vegan Toast http://t.co/R6XEmNLklb

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:07:14

    Featured Recipe: Vegan Toast http://t.co/4JeMD3A27T

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 12, 2015 @ 12:47:42

    Featured Recipe: Vegan Toast http://t.co/ETutWJ8sOI #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    May 01, 2015 @ 15:30:07

    Yummy #vegan toast: http://t.co/35qzMmhLnk

    Reply

Leave a Reply

