Challenge Update! Headed Into the Last Week

I’ve completed 33/40 days of the Challenge Part II, and I’m feeling pretty good. My classes haven’t been the most awesomest ever, but they have not been the worst. As I’ve said, adding B12, Potassium, and Magnesium  to my diet has been a lifesaver. I take one of each every day now, and it has improved my mood and my energy levels noticeably. I feel less crabby and not so run down. But don’t get me wrong – I am totally into taking naps. Since it’s the holidays, and I’m between semesters, my napping is currently operating on a high level. Naps are awesome.

At the end of yesterdays class I did something I have not done at all during this entire challenge – I meditated. Now, I know that Bikram is considered to be a 90-minute moving meditation, and I am slowly starting to comprehend it as such. However, I know that I personally would benefit from a sitting meditation practice. But if you’ve been reading me for awhile, you also know that I just can’t seem to get it launched.

This is what I'm dealing with.

This is what I’m dealing with.

Today, after final breathing, I was laying in savassanah  thinking about how I needed to start a sitting meditation practice. I reasoned I should start that day. Then my brain set about finding reasons for me not to do it including:

  • you have too much to do when you get home.
  • why start now? you know you have to go to the dentist in a week. you know you won’t meditate for one-two days when that whole thing goes down. just wait until it’s over
  • just wait until later. you’re cool

As you can see, my brain is still conspiring against my well being. So I ignored it. Rather than tell myself that I could meditate when I got home/later that day/sometime before I went to bed I decided to crawl up off my mat and do it right then and there.

Now, I am not experienced at sitting meditation, but I know a few things. I backed myself up against a post and sat up straight. I crossed my legs, rests my hands on my knees, and closed my eyes. I’m a beginner so I knew I didn’t have to sit forever. Just for a bit. I focused on my breath and started to count each one. I was doing pretty good until I got to five. Then I wanted to stop. Of course I did not stop. I hadn’t been sitting that long, and I knew I should push myself a bit past the edge. So I counted up to ten breaths. That was it. I opened my eyes and got on with my day.

I realized that it was foolish of my to use my upcoming dentist appointment as an excuse not to meditate. Sure, I won’t be doing any meditating the day I go (and possibly the day after), but I also won’t be going to yoga on those days either. I didn’t use the dentist as a reason not to do other things so why should it be an issue with meditation? Meditation, I realized, was like yoga. I should do it every day I can, but I have to realize that I won’t be able to do it every single day for very real reasons. Meditation, like yoga, can be worked into my schedule if I want it to. I want it to.

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 29, 2014 @ 08:22:58

    The Challenge Part II is winding down: http://t.co/WmSzeU6M6Q #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 31, 2015 @ 19:28:01

    Challenge Update!… http://t.co/j1KrfdXQEp #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 19:18:44

    Challenge Update!… http://t.co/WmSzeTfYIE #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

