The Yoga Coma

So, as usual, I went to class on Saturday and Sunday. On both days I took the 9:00, and on both days I sweated a lot. You know those classes – the ones where your mat turns into a slip and slide. I had a slip and slide mat for two days in a row. But class itself was fine. I felt fine.

On Sunday, after the second time of this, I came home, had lunch, and realized I was going down for a nap, but not just any nap. I was getting ready to be hit with a yoga coma.

You might be familiar with the yoga come. Here are the symptoms:

  • An urgent need to take a nap right now
  • Falling asleep as soon as your head hits the pillow
  • Lasting anywhere from 90 minutes to two hours
  • Little if any movement while sleeping. You could lay in the same position for two hours
This is the basic concept of the yoga coma.

This is the basic concept of the yoga coma.

I experienced my first yoga coma after my very first Bikram class. I remember being at the pet store in the afternoon and suddenly realizing I had to get home because I was about to pass out. This wasn’t a oh, wouldn’t a nap be nice when I get home from running errands kind of thing. This was more like oh, if I don’t get my butt home I am going to take a nap on the floor of the pet store. What I’m saying is, the yoga coma is technically a nap, but it is not a nap that is optional. You will be going to sleep, and you will be sleeping hard.

The yoga coma was very common during my initial months into the practice. I don’t know what causes it. I guess that class just sucked the life out of me and the coma was a way to force my body into recovery. It’s less common now, but every once in awhile it resurfaces again. My body apparently doesn’t just need rest so much as it demands rest. It’s going to happen!

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 29, 2015 @ 08:24:20

    The Yoga Coma – http://t.co/3wNImxHrf7 via @shareaholic #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 21, 2015 @ 01:15:32

    The Yoga Coma http://t.co/iA2iGn0gJt #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

