Don’t Feel Bad For Me

Last week was incredibly insane at work. It was one of those rare weeks when I would get home at about 8:30 at night and have to turn right around and be in again the next morning. One day I even had to miss yoga! I know! The horror!

So I stumbled into the studio after several long days of work, and having just missed class the day before, pretty tired. I set myself up in the swamp region of the studio. I don’t know why I did this, but this is where I wanted to experience class. The swamp is not technically any hotter than the rest of the room (maybe one degree at best), but there are no fans in that area. So there’s no air circulation.

rp_Camel-Benefits-II-300x300.jpgClass was fine. I was fine with it. I sat out some postures, but I did at least one of everything. I did two sets of most postures. I was really happy because I could finally start doing back bends again. After the flu, I had lots of congestion which manifested in extreme amounts of coughing – particularly in class. I couldn’t do any back bends at all because I would start coughing like crazy. On this day I could actually do that first back bend in the half moon series, and I even did a set of camel.

After class was over, the teacher said something along the lines of feeling bad for me about how I couldn’t do all of the sets for each posture. She wanted me to be able to do all the sets. I was caught off guard by this a bit, but responded that I didn’t feel bad for myself of what happened in class. I was pleased with it. She suggested that when I am feeling tired maybe I shouldn’t set up in the swamp. It’s something to consider, except that day I wanted to be in the swamp. I wanted to have whatever experience I had.

So don’t feel bad for me.

Don’t feel bad for me if I fall out of a posture.

Don’t feel bad for me if I can barely stand up on my mat.

Don’t feel bad for me if I sit down.

I know myself. I know what I need. I do this yoga for myself, and I am happy with every single class for being whatever it will be.

Three Years Ago Today on MBYL

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 08:20:52

    Going to class is always better than not going to class. Enjoy the experience. http://t.co/MEWoiZSPPa #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. @halfmooning
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 08:51:27

    RT @LeighAHall: Going to class is always better than not going to class. Enjoy the experience. http://t.co/MEWoiZSPPa #bikramyoga #yogaholi…

    Reply

  3. @wellnessforyou
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 13:16:48

    RT @LeighAHall: Going to class is always better than not going to class. Enjoy the experience. http://t.co/MEWoiZSPPa #bikramyoga #yogaholi…

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 08:55:06

    Don’t Feel Bad For Me http://t.co/MEWoiZjDiw #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

