Favorite Things: Nuts.com

Last summer, I made a vegan cashew cheese for the first time in my life, and used it to make a vegan grilled cheese. You can read about that here. It was yummy. It was really more like a spread/dip, but it involved me going to Whole Foods and buying cashews in bulk. Cashews are not cheap at the store my friends. No they are not.

I really like the cashew cheese I made, and I started to acquire other recipes that called for cashew-based cheeses. I knew that going to the store to buy them was not the most economical thing to do. So I finally got off my butt and started looking around online. That’s when I landed on Nuts.com.

I have some cashews.

I have some cashews.

Nuts.com sells nuts in bulk. A five-pound bag of cashews goes for about 50.00. I looked back at how much the cashews cost at Whole Foods last summer. According to my post, they were 13.99 a pound. So five pounds will put you around 70.00. Clearly cheaper to buy in bulk online.

I ordered my bag on a Thursday and it arrived on Saturday! I was so excited I didn’t know what to do. So of course I went ahead and made a really simply vegan cashew cheese. The Minimalist Baker has a great vegan Parmesan cheese recipe which is where I started.

The recipe calls for four ingredients: cashews, nutritional yeast, garlic powder, and sea salt. You can get nutritional yeast at Whole Foods or a comparable store. You can buy it in bulk there. Note that the recipe says nothing about soaking the cashews. Normally, vegan cheese recipes will tell you to soak the cashews. I found a comment clarifying not to soak them. That is correct.

So there’s not much to do here! For my first foray with my cashews from Nuts.com I simply dumped all the ingredients into a food processor and whipped it up. Takes about two minutes to do. Before I knew it I had my vegan Parmesan cheese:

 

vegan cheese parm

 

Did it work? Yes! I was nervous about what the taste would be and the whole not soaking the cashews thing, but it turned out great. I have added it to my Caesar salad that I have been making courtesy of Thug Kitchen. Before, that salad either had no cheese on it or it had actual cheese and was vegetarian. Thanks to these cashews, and this recipe, I am rocking out a truly vegan chicken Caesar salad.

My little bag of cocoa nibs.

My little bag of cocoa nibs.

I was very pleased with the quality of my cashews and the price I paid for them. In addition, Nuts.com sent me a little free bad of cocoa nibs. Yes, they are strong, but you can use them a number of ways. There are many recipes online for them, but you can also just shoot a handful. Have a headache? Need caffeine? Want chocolate? Do a shot of cocoa nibs and you’ll likely find yourself feeling better and super alert.

Anyways, I’m excited about Nut.com. I’m going to see how long a five-pound bag lasts me.  They have a 25-pound case for 200.00. That might sound expensive, but it comes out to 7.99 a pound which is super cheap. We’ll see how fast I go through this bag. I’m looking forward to making a lot of vegan cheese and sharing it with you all!

 

 

Three Years Ago Today on MBYL

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 05, 2015 @ 07:41:03

    Making #vegan cheese is easy. Get your @nuts from http://t.co/WDiXyi2qga http://t.co/bo1sAq78Pf #bikramyoga

    Reply

  2. @nuts
    Feb 05, 2015 @ 12:34:17

    RT @LeighAHall: Making #vegan cheese is easy. Get your @nuts from http://t.co/WDiXyi2qga http://t.co/bo1sAq78Pf #bikramyoga

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 23, 2015 @ 17:56:45

    Favorite Things: http://t.co/KXLKaqTUfi http://t.co/bo1sAqoJGN #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 14:50:09

    Reply

Leave a Reply

