Retro Throwback: Lentil Soup

On Sundays, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago.

Lentil soup is not on the Whole30 plan, but I found a recipe for it that I have to pass along before soup season is over. I made this awhile back. It’s tasty, easy to do, and economical.

While I was very interested in cooking with lentils, you might recall I had a bad experience with lentils that resulted in me crying and eating bacon. But I decided to give it a whirl one more time. I found a great recipe over on the Food Network that seemed simple and easy to do. Of course, that last lentil recipe I tried also seemed simple andeasy to do and look what that got me – tears and bacon.

There's no crying when bacon is around.

But the lentil soup recipe was easy to make. My one suggestion would be to double the amount of tomatoes. One cup didn’t seem like very much when it was all said and done. And while I have a stick blender, I chose not to puree it. I thought it turned out great without pureeing it at all. I bought some pita chips  to dunk in it (totally made it even better). This soup makes a lot and will feed me along once a day for a week. Easy to store. Easy to reheat. It’s also vegan.

 

The finished product.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Mar 02, 2015 @ 17:07:00

    Retro Throwback: Lentil Soup http://t.co/h3ATBpXrhZ

    Reply

Leave a Reply

