Staying in With Bikram

Recently, I got to experience the fun of having it snow, then having some sort of freezing rain, and waking up to a combination of snow/ice. I’m sure many of you have been experiencing this too. And some of you have been dealing with much, much worse.

The view from the front door.

The view from the front door.

With the roads basically a giant sheet of ice, there was no way I was going into work to teach class. In fact, the university shut itself down for the day. So there I was, at home with all the time in the world and absolutely no ability to get to class. Most of the classes at the studio were cancelled that day except for the 4:30. Some people did leave my neighborhood for whatever reason, but most stayed put. The Boyfriend pointed out that while I could probably get out just fine for a 4:30 class, the roads would be frozen again when I got home (and yes, he was right).

So I stayed put.

But a couple of things were going on in my head:

(a) I was getting super stiff from sitting around the house all day

(b) This was supposed to be day 20-something (I have a calendar at my office keeping count) in my current streak. I didn’t want to stop my streak for snow and ice!

Enter the Bikram album.

Did you know that you can buy a pre-recorded class with Bikram from Itunes? Well, you can. And, I have to admit, I actually bought it a couple of years ago. I bought it so I could listen to the dialogue on long car trips. No, I am not making this up. I actually listened to it in the car to try to learn more about the postures – to see if I noticed something when I just sat and listened to it that I didn’t hear in class. Think what you will.

The point is, I had class at home with me. If I couldn’t get to the studio, I could still take class at home. And I did.

I took out my Breathe mat  and tossed it onto the floor in front of a door. I managed to get myself a little sunbeam for most of the class. I turned my mat so I was facing the closet door. This helped me focus as opposed to staring at the clutter that is on my desk. I set up my speaker and phone and then started!

Let's get this Bikram party started.

Let’s get this Bikram party started.

It was that simple. Sort of.

I immediately learned that having a home practice can be difficult. Forget the obvious (no heat/humidity). It’s difficult to take class all by yourself. You have only yourself to be accountable to. If I chose not to do something who would know? No one. And guess what? I hate, hate, hate the warm-up series. I so did not want to do it.

So yeah. the first 30 minutes sucked for me.

But somehow I gave in and started going with the flow, and you know what? I immediately learned something in the first breathing exercise. I do it way to quickly. I breathe in too quickly, and I breathe out too quickly. I’m not sure if I was ever aware of this before or not, but it was my one major take away from doing class at home. And one major take away from any class is always good.

Three Years Ago Today on MBYL

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

 

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bill Affourtit (@waffourt)
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 06:46:31

    Staying in With Bikram – http://t.co/n0hSCdsxDy via @shareaholic

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 07:59:59

    #snowday? You can still get your #yoga in! http://t.co/HdiMDle1fC #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. Trackback: What Time Do You Practice? :: My Bikram Yoga Life
  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Mar 01, 2015 @ 17:07:01

    Staying in With Bikram http://t.co/Z3ZchlXMYN

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 17:52:23

    Staying in With Bikram http://t.co/HdiMDkWpR2 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

