What Time Do You Practice?

When the snow/ice/completely horrible weather hit, it did more than get me practicing at home with Bikram. It also caused me to change the time I practiced.

go to yogaI don’t know about you, but I have sort of a routine when it comes to my yoga practice. During the year when I am on contract at the university (which is from mid-August to the beginning of May), my yoga classes revolve around my work schedule. For the most part, I take 4:30 classes Monday-Friday. Sometimes I do a 9:00 depending on my life, but the 4:30 is the norm. On the weekends I do either the 9:00 or the 3:00 depending on my schedule. When I am off contract, I typically do the 9:00 classes during the week.

But my studio offers other times too. They offer a noon several days a week and a 6:30 pm Monday-Friday. And I so very rarely do these. The last time I was at a 6:30 class was when my car wouldn’t start and that time became a last resort. I did a noon class once and decided it wasn’t for me.

I don’t like the 6:30 pm class because by the time I get home it’s 8:30 and then I still have to shower. Plus, I’m not sure how to eat in such a way to prepare myself for the 6:30 class. With the noon it’s a similar problem – it just doesn’t align with my eating habits.

However, given the weather conditions I decided recently that a noon class was my best bet. The weather would be performing at optimal conditions during that time frame (sunny, ice mostly melted, not snowing). In the morning, I sat around the house working in my pajamas (awesome!!!). Before I went to class I ran into the restaurant next door for a piece of baklava. I had to have something before class.

And that right there is my biggest problem with the noon class – the food. I’m up around 7:00. I do my best thinking in the morning plus the dog would appreciate me taking her out. I managed to make it until 8:00 before eating something. But even then, I didn’t eat a lot. I’m just not a big eater in the morning.

So I had myself a little snack and wandered into the noon class a bit wary of what would happen. And while I petered out a bit at the end, overall it was a nice class.

Just trying to avoid this garbage.

Just trying to avoid this garbage.

Until I got home.

By the time I got home and showered it was after 2:00, and I hadn’t really eaten all day. I made myself a sandwich with a salad and felt better, but soon after I had a horrible headache. I knew it wasn’t a hydration issue – trust me, I’m pretty good on that by now – and the only thing I could really think of was that it was probably a food issue.

Maybe I’m right and maybe not.  But regardless, I just don’t think the noon class works for me. I am all about changing things up. I think it’s a good idea to set my mat up in different places (and not be locked into a spot) and even go to class at different times. How my body performs at a 9:00 am class is different than how it performs at a 4:30 pm class, and it’s fun to see those differences. It just seems like some of these times work better for me than others in terms of fit. What about you? Are there class times that work better for you?

Three Years Ago Today on MBYL

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 26, 2015 @ 07:42:03

    What time do you practice #yoga? http://t.co/8iGhaHsIIm #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. Mark Quast (@do_the_posture)
    Feb 26, 2015 @ 07:58:19

    “@LeighAHall: What time do you practice #yoga? http://t.co/l124YFfOCK #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag”
    Usually evenings. Tough to make mornings.

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 27, 2015 @ 10:07:09

    What Time Do You Practice? http://t.co/Fp3OFAbISq

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Apr 26, 2015 @ 08:25:56

    What Time Do You Practice? http://t.co/8iGhaHb7jM #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

